New Arrivals!

Latest arrivals at Chez Whisperer

Thank you to Oxford World Classics, Penguin, Headline, Simon & Schuster, Hodder & Stoughton and Salt Publishing for sending me the following books!

 

 

 

 

The Oracle of Stamboul by Michael David Lukas (how gorgeous is that cover?)

The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards

Altar of Bones byPhilip Carter

I won these books from @saltpublishing on Twitter for being their 15,00oth follower (what a lovely surprise when I got the message from them!). I was given a £20 gift voucher and this is what I chose:

Too Many Magpies by Elizabeth Baines

Nude by by Nuala Ní­ Chonchúir

Shop Diaries by Emily Benet

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Moon Lake by Eudora Welty

Bliss by Katherine Mansfield

Delerium by Lauren Oliver

I have already read The Secret Garden (review coming soon) and I’m looking forward to the rest.

Have you read any of these? Any recommendations?

 

13 thoughts on “New Arrivals!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention New Arrivals! « The Book Whisperer -- Topsy.com

  2. You know what I admit to liking most about these kinds of posts? Admiring the different covers from the ones we have! 🙂

    I think Lake of Dreams will be good; I really enjoyed an excerpt I read from it. And funny, because we just received the other two in that photo today at work.

    I love that cover of the Secret Garden! Yummy Oxford. I’m glad we can get them here, but I’m holding out for this edition, which I KNOW you’ll love (look at the illustrator!): http://www.amazon.ca/Secret-Garden-Frances-Hodgson-Burnett/dp/1402778724/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1297485615&sr=8-1

    Like

  3. Oh, strange. Some of my comment disappeared. I basically said that I loved the cover of your Oxford Secret Garden but am holding out for the edition, the link I gave you, that I know you’ll also love: check out the illustrator!

    Like

  4. Gah! What’s going on. That link brings me back to your site! Okay, so the illustrator is Robert Ingpen (you have his A Christmas Carol, and it’s published by Sterling. It’s on amazon.ca. I didn’t check amazon.co.uk…

    Like

Leave a comment