Day 10 – A book that gave me the creeps

Don’t stop for the blond lady in glasses…

It’s about 5 or so months since I read this book and it still freaks me out when I think about it. Under the Skin by Michael Faber is a very strange story of a woman who drives up and down the A9 in Scotland looking for men hitchikers. She doesn’t just stop for any old man though – he has to be big and beefy and alone.

I can’t tell you any more than that for fear of ruining the book for anyone still brave enough to read it but it’s sufice to say that it completely freaked me out and made me feel sick. For me, the book was just weird and didn’t make sense. I know there are plenty who have loved this book though so don’t just take my word for it, but as far as I’m concerned this book totally creeped me out…

 

Ā  Any others I should be avoiding? šŸ˜‰

 

14 thoughts on “Day 10 – A book that gave me the creeps

  1. Indeed, I’m one of those people that loved the book. I do like it that it made a big impression on you, though.

    I can’t think of a particular book that freaks me out but I never, ever want to see Misery the movie again. Ahhhh. Nightmares!

    Like

  2. I remember reading your review for this and I immediately went and put in a swop on RISI for it, haven’t got round to it yet, maybe I will in a few weeks. I liked how much this book freaked you out that, it certainly gained my interest.

    The only book that has made me feel uneasy is Tiger, Tiger. It didn’t creep me out, but it was a bit of a disturbing read, other than that I’m just not easily spooked šŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. The Shinning is still the creepiest book I have ever read. I still can’t go by old fashion fire hoses without thinking they are going to try and leap off the wall and try to kill me. I think the book that has disturbed me the most was We need to talk about Kevin. That book still makes me shudder.

    Like

  4. Is this the same author who wrote The Crimson Petal and the White? If so his style is quite diverse ….
    I remember being freaked out by American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis. It wasn’t truly scary, just very VERY disturbing.

    Like

  5. I don’t mean to be obtuse but what’s the point in reading a book like this? There are too many wonderful books out there to waste my time on drival such as this. But I guess that’s why I don’t write a reading blog. Take care.

    Like

    • The point, Martine, is that we all like different books. But sometimes you pick up a book that you think is great, but turns out not to be. Personally, I loved reading it.

      It was not a book for Boof, but that doesn’t mean it’s drivel!

      Like

    • I agree with Leeswammes, it wasn’t for me but it wasn’t drivel. Besides, I never know if I will enjoy a book before I start reading it anyway, and if I don’t like a book then I would always comment (as I have done) that each person should make up their own mind; afterall we don’t all like the same books (case in point that Leeswammes and I have similar taste in books usually but on this occasion, we didn’t see eye to eye).

      Like

  6. You have me completely intrigued now. I can’t think of a book that creeped me out, there are definitely some disturbing reads for sure.

    Announced winners today and you are one of them, yaaaay. Come over

    Like

Leave a comment