Review: The Midnight Rose by Lucinda Riley

midnight roseWhat I Thought:

When you’re in the mood for a sweeping, epic saga, look no further than this book. The Midnight Rose was my first read by Lucinda Riley and will most certainly not be my last. I have an urge for something that would consume and enchant me and this meaty tome did just that.

Set over 100 years in both the UK (mainly Devon) and India, the tale starts with Anni on her 100th birthday in Darjeeling. She hands a letter to her eldest Great Grandson, Ari, which tells her life story and about her time in the England when she was a young girl and urges him to help track down the son she was told had died but even after all these years, she has never believed it.

The book weaves between the past and present and introduces a great cast of characters, including in the present day, Rebecca the Hollywood movie star who is filming at the gothic mansion in Devon in which Anni lived for a time, and in the past, Donald Astbury, who owned the mansion for a time.

The Midnight Rose is difficult to review without giving too much away, as the story unfolds with mystery, tragedy, scheming, romance, and loss. There is so much packed into this book, and I was so engrossed in the multiple stories that I didn’t want to put it down. There was one part that almost spoilt the book for me, however, and actually had me groaning out loud, was something that happened at the end. It was creepy but in a laughable, horrifying way and unnecessary for the plot in my opinion.

Verdict:

A hugely enjoyable, spellbinding tale of several families spanning generations. Highly recommended.

blog-29

4 thoughts on “Review: The Midnight Rose by Lucinda Riley

  1. I love Lucinda Riley’s books and I think she handles the dual time periods very well. I’m particularly enjoying her Seven Sisters series – I can’t wait for the fourth one coming later this year. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

