The Orenda Roadshow came to Leeds

Authors come to Yorkshire!

In December last year, I resurrected my 7-year-old book blog after a couple of years hiatus. Within weeks of me re-joining the Twitter community of book lovers, I became very aware of a new-to-me publisher. That publisher was Orenda. The first thing I noticed was the buzz and excitement around the books and authors represented by Orenda, and of the energy and passion of its owner, Karen Sullivan. The way she engaged with her followers seemed really genuine and I couldn’t help but be drawn into it.

There was a big buzz around a new title, Rupture by Ragnar Jónasson, at the time and after downloading the first 3 titles in the series on my Kindle, and having fallen in love with the first one Snowblind, I (cheekily) asked Karen if I could have a copy of Rupture. What arrived in the post was a parcel with 4 of her titles in. Since then I have become a stalwart Orenda fan! Out of the ones I have so far read, there is not just not a bad one among them, they are all utterly fantastic!

When I found out that Karen would be bringing 8 of her authors to Leeds as part of the Orenda Roadshow, I jumped at the chance to go.

orenda-logo-5

Orenda Roadshow

When I met Karen, she was just as I’d imagined: friendly, fun and fabulous! And what a great evening! Out of the eight authors there, I had already read 3 of the books (and the others I now have – they are sitting patiently on my shelf waiting to be picked up really soon).

Meet the authors

Lousie Beech

Hull author and fellow Yorkshire Lass Louise wrote the utterly fantastic The Mountain in My Shoe (my review is here).

orenda-8

orenda-2

Louise signed my copy of her book with a pair of boobs which is still making me laugh! (apparently she is well known for this…)

Michael J Malone

Michael is author of several novels, including his latest A Suitable Lie, which I am intending to read really soon, especially as another blogger in the audience said that it contains one of the best villains she has ever read about! Praise indeed.

orenda-5.jpg

Kati Hiekkapelto

Kati is apparently the Queen of Finnish Noir. Her latest book, The Exiled, is the third in a series (that you can read as stand-alones)  and this sounds like a really gripping read. Kati is very cool too – definitely Noir Queen looking!

orenda-4.jpg

Antti Tuomainen

The other Finnish author of the panel and the King of Finnish Noir, Antti was the class clown who made me laugh. A lot. Very funny and slightly mischievous and author of a great sounding book, The Mine, which I am looking forward to getting to soon too.

orenda-13.jpg

 

Matt Wesolowski

British author of debut novel Six Stories, which I finished last week and is SO good! I can’t wait to share my review of this book and as I am part of the blog tour on 17th March I will also be asking Matt some questions so please do pop back then.

orenda-3.jpg

orenda-1

Johana Gustawsson

New girl on the block (I thank you…) is French author Johana who, according to Karen has the face of an angel and the mind of a sicko. This book is as yet unpublished in the UK (coming May) but I have already heard some noise about it on Twitter and when Johana read (and sang!) from her book Block 46, I knew I have to have a copy of this book. Soon!

orenda-7.jpg

Matt Johnson

Ex-Cop and ex-Soldier, Matt, told us about how he started writing to help him with PTSD, and it was a really inspiring story. His second book, Deadly Game, is just out very soon and sounds like a really gripping read.

orenda-10-e1488662271580.jpg

Thomas Enger

Norwegian Thomas is author of the much-talked-about recently released book Cursed. I read this a few weeks ago but haven’t got round to reviewing it yet (I know, so naughty) but it is a really great, action-packed book and well worth a read.

orenda-6.jpg

It was a really great evening and I was so chuffed to meet so many of the Orenda authors and it has really made me excited to read more of the titles from the Orenda catalogue.

Here are the books the authors read from and if you want to find out more about them then please take a look at the Orenda website and support one of the best publishers out there at the moment (in my humble opinion).

8 thoughts on “The Orenda Roadshow came to Leeds

  1. I’m so jealous!! I hope Karen brings her authors to the US sometime, what a fun evening:) I have everyone’s books you just mentioned except Block 46 and Kati’s. I really want to read A Suitable Lie soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I AM SO JEALOUS!!! Hahahaha! It sounds and looks like you’ve had the best of times! I loved reading about it! I am sure that Karen is as sweet and awesome in real life as she’s online, she’s so adorable and professional, a gem! And those boobs from Louise, hahahaha! I really need to get my ass to the UK soon!!
    Fantastic post! Thanks for sharing with us!
    And… YOU NEED TO READ A SUITABLE LIE! 🙂

    Like

  3. So, so jealous! I’m in the US also and would absolutely love to meet Karen and these wonderful authors. I’m reading Snowblind as we speak. Almost all my Book Depository orders lately have included Orenda books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

