Blogger Recognition Award

blogger-recognition-award

Although not a newbie into the book blogging world (The Book Whisperer actually kicked off in 2009), I am a relatively new returner after a couple of years hiatus (more later) so I am chuffed and delighted to be nominated for this award by Renée IT’S BOOK TALK, especially as she is one of my favourite recently discovered blogs.

Rules of this award

Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog
Write a post to show your award
Give a brief story of how your blog started
Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to
Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide a link to the post you have created

How I got started

The Book Whisperer started back in December of 2009 after a suggestion from a friend on a group I was a member of on Goodreads. I didn’t actually know that book blogging was a “thing” back then but I quickly discovered a whole world of like-minded people who shared my passion for all things bookish. My blog readership grew quickly and I made lots of friends both online and also in person after meeting up a few times. In about 2014 I had a major book slump and as a result I stopped blogging for quite a while (not deliberately but I just stopped posting apart from the odd review for Netgalley). At the end of last year I decided to resurrect The Book Whisperer and have fallen in love with it all over again. It’s good to be back 🙂

Advice

This is supposed to be two pieces of advice but speaking from personal experience, while it’s amazing to be part of such a great group of like-minded people, it’s also easy to get carried away and do too much and then burn out, so I have included a few more tips.  Try to remember:

  • This isn’t your job (although if someone wants to pay me to do this full-time, I’m listening… 😉 ).
  • Don’t feel pressured to read every book you’re sent (you can’t)
  • Don’t feel obliged to do book tours (you don’t have to do them all – personally speaking, I only do the ones where I have already read the book and loved it or it is a publisher or author I know and respect)
  • I know how much fun it is to get so many gorgeous shiny, new books sent from publishers but read some of your own choices too (back catalogue books by one of your favourtie authors, something you’ve ordered from Amazon or picked up in a bookshop on a whim)
  • Remember why you started blogging in the first place. Keep it fun and if it starts to feel like a chore, either take a break or change what you’re doing to please you.

15 Fantastic blogs

I have included blogs I love from the first time I blogged (some of whom I have met in person) and blogs I have recently discovered where I not only enjoy reading their posts but they have also really welcomed me into the fold, either by liking and commenting on my posts or engaging with me on Twitter. A fabulous bunch of people in no particular order:

She Reads Novels – Helen

Beyond Eden Rock – Jane

Reading Matters – Kim

Savidge Reads – Simon

Annabookbel – Annabel

Dees Rad Reads and Reviews – Dee

My Chestnut Reading Tree – Jo

The Quiet Knitter – Kate

The Misstery – Annie

Rather Too Fond of Books – Hayley

Fiction Fan – Fiction Fan

The Last Word Book Reviews – John

Cleopatra Loves Books – Cleo

Damp Pebbles Book Blog – Emma

Random Things Through my Letterbox – Anne

Have a little look at their blogs and enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Aww, thank you so much for the nomination! 😀 I’m one of your newer followers but I’m glad you’ve come back to the blogosphere – as you say, it’s a great community. Your advice is excellent – I see so many bloggers putting pressure on themselves and burning out. I used to do that too, but now I’m much better at recognising when it’s in danger of becoming a chore and taking a break for a week or two – after all, we get holidays from our day jobs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such amazing tips 🙂 It is so easy to lose sight of the reason your started blogging when all the books are coming your way and you can’t say now! I have just started blog tours and I only pick ones from my favorite publishers and only for stories I feel would really please me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

