Throwback Thursday: Sacrifice by Sharon Bolton

throwbackthursdayThrowback Thursday is a meme created by Renee at It’s Book Talk to share old favourite books rather than just the new shiny ones. This is a great idea to bring back to life some much-loved books. Please feel free to join in.

My choice for this week is:

Sacrifice by Sharon Bolton

sacrificeMy original review in 2011 is here.

If you love the sort of book that is so relentless in pace, with characters whom you don’t know whether you can trust or not from one page to the next, and wrapped up in a plot so engaging that you just can’t find a suitable place to put the book down and take a break, then this book is for you!

Tora, a surgeon, and her husband Duncan have recently moved to the Shetland Islands from England (although Duncan was brought up there but hasn’t lived there for 20 years). From the opening pages, when Tora unearths the body of a young woman while trying to dig a grave for her horse, through to the action-packed final scenes the tightly woven plot never slips despite its 550 pages. After the discovery of the body, Tora can’t quite bring herself to leave it alone, convinced that there are other bodies to be found and sets off on a mission to discover the mystery surrounding the nameless girl in her garden, but it seems that someone (or several someones) are trying to stop her. Teaming up with Dana Tulloch, a serious young police detective who agrees with Tora that nothing is quite as it seems, they embark on a mission to find out what has happened to the girl in her garden and unearth the secret that someone on the Shetland Islands is deadly intent on not being exposed.

With gothic undertones, ancient history and myths and action and adventure among a breathtakingly beautiful backdrop, what more can you want? Just don’t get comfortable……with twists aplenty you’ll never quite be sure who you can trust!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!


Have you read any of Sharon Bolton’s books? I am a massive fan. What do you think?

8 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Sacrifice by Sharon Bolton

  1. Sharon Bolton is at the top of my very favorite author list and surprisingly I haven’t read this one! Thanks for reminding I need to get on board and read her early ones. Her Lacey Flint series is my favorite series but I also loved Little Black Lies and Daisy in Chains. I’m so glad you’ve joined me in sharing old favs!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sacrifice is my favourite one still, Renee, and I’ve loved all her books. So good!!! Don’t watch the film (straight to TV) thought – it’s rubbish and nowhere near as good as the book.
      I love doing this – going back in to my old reviews and remembering books I’d forgotten I’d even read. I’ve got my posts stacked up until April now and having such fun reminiscing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ok I definitely have to read this one if you’re saying it’s your favorite!! When I started blogging I knew I had to incorporate my old favorites somehow because I still love to recommend them. I think people love being able to head right to the library or amazon and pick up the older books. I’m so glad you’re on board, you’re picks are now increasing my TBR even more😂

        Like

  2. This was the first Sharon Bolton book I read and still one of my favourites – it was so atmospheric! I enjoyed her Lacey Flint series too but I think I prefer the standalones like this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

