Review: The Breakdown by B A Paris

breakdownWhat I thought:

Cass leaves a party in the middle of a violent storm one summers evening. Desperate to get home, she drives her little mini down a shortcut through a winding country road that cuts through woods and immediately regrets her choice. Spotting a car in a layby with a woman inside, she stops to see if everything is OK but due to the torrential rain and the fact that the woman doesn’t get out or flash her lights, Cass takes the decision to drive on assuming that she doesn’t need help. It is a decision that will haunt her from that night on, as the next morning it is all over the news that a woman has been found murdered in her car down that very road.

Plagued by guilt at her decision, Cass descends into a state of stress and anxiety which seems to result in short-term memory loss, scaring her to death as her mother recently died of early onset dementia. Strange things start happening: conversations are forgotten, online purchases she can’t remember making turn up, guests she can’t remember inviting arrive. And then begin the silent calls…

Watching Cass spiral further out of control this leaves the reader to guess whether she is having a breakdown or whether someone is trying to break her. Is she being paranoid or are her fears founded?

Verdict:

This is the first book I’ve read by this author so I came to it with no expectations (actually, if I’m totally honest, I half expected it to be fairly mediocre and similar to the masses out there at the moment, but I was wrong). The Breakdown was actually a really gripping read, and one that kept me guessing and on my toes throughout. A real sense of place and believable characters as well as subtle misdirections and the mounting fear felt by Cass ensued I kept turning those pages well into the night. The reveal was very cleverly done too and had me hooked firmly in it clutches as I raced towards the end. A real page-turner.

Have you read this? What did you think?

I received a copy of this book via Netgalley and Harelquin in return for my honest review.

blog-25

 

4 thoughts on “Review: The Breakdown by B A Paris

  1. I haven’t read this one, I think I’m hesitant because I read Behind Closed Doors and found it blah overall. I may give this one a try at some point. I’m taking somewhat of a break from psychological thrillers for awhile as I haven’t been enjoying them too much lately. Great review!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Her previous book is on my TBR and I’ve heard so much praise about it that it made me leery so I did not pay much attention to the new one. I try to mix up genres as much as possible to avoid getting jaded with my favorite genre, psychological thrillers are enjoyable as long as you don’t read too many of them in a row!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

