My Sweet Revenge by Jane Fallon

jane-1The Blurb:

“I want to make my husband fall back in love with me.

Let me explain. This isn’t an exercise in 1950s wifeydom. I haven’t been reading articles in old women’s magazines. ‘Twenty ways to keep your man’. That couldn’t be further from the truth.

I want him to fall back in love with me so that when I tell him to get the hell out of my life he’ll care. He won’t just think, ‘Oh good’.

I want it to hurt.”

Paula has had Robert’s back since they got together as drama students. She gave up her dreams so he could make it. Now he’s one of the nation’s most popular actors. And Paula’s just discovered he’s having an affair.

She’s going to remind Robert just what he’s sacrificing. And then she’s going to break his heart like he broke hers. It will be her greatest acting role ever.

Revenge is sweet. Isn’t it?

  What I thought:

Once upon a time I was a book snob. I refused to read anything that had high-heels, handbags or anything pink on the cover. Then one day, on a total whim, I bought “Getting Rid of Matthew” by Jane Fallon. I can’t remember what made me pick it up but I’m only glad that I did. What I discovered between the pages was something totally unexpected: pacey, funny and pure escapism.

My Sweet Revenge is no different. Characters to root for, ones to despise and somebody who will get their comeuppance. Paula is a wife and mother who gave up her dreams of acting to raise her family and now works (happily) in a bakery. She has put on weight over the years (haven’t we all) but she doesn’t realise how she and husband Robert have drifted apart until she sees a text on his phone that exposes his affair with a co-worker. As soon as she realises that she doesn’t actually want him back, she sets about plotting her revenge by getting him to fall for her again so she can tell him where to go. Paula is a very likable character and you instantly want to egg her on to make Robert pay. Saskia, who also narrates part of the book, is a great villain of the piece: skinny, vain, obsessed with herself (a bit of a caricature but a fun one that you love to hate). Deceit, drama, fun, and twists are the ingredients for My Sweet Revenge and like any good desert, once you’ve started you can’t stop.

  Verdict:

There were enough curve-balls to keep the momentum going and enough humour to keep the pages turning quickly in this latest book by one of my favourite authors in this genre. It’s a sassy and enjoyable read and what I would class as a “palate cleanser” read. I did find Paula’s transformation a bit unbelievable but was prepared to overlook this for the light-hearted read that it was. Big thumbs up for Fallon again!

I was kindly provided a review copy of this book by Netgalley and Penguin Books in return for my honest review.

blog-10

 

One thought on “My Sweet Revenge by Jane Fallon

  1. Pingback: My Sweet Revenge by Jane Fallon – my moment of fame on launch day #MySweetRevenge #BookReview – The Book Whisperer

Leave a Reply

