Thirteen Weddings by Paige Toon

Paige ToonWhat I thought:

Paige Toon is one of my favourite “chick lit” authors. In fact, a self-confessed chick-lit-snob several years ago (i.e. I wouldn’t touch the things), Paige Toon’s book Lucy in the Sky was the first one of its kind that I ever read (simply as there was nothing else to hand to read at that time). I loved it! I more that loved it – I adored it! Since then I have gone on to become a fan of Sophie Kinsella, Katie Fforde and many others in this category but Paige Toon’s books are still up there for me – funny and romantic in a way that always makes me serioulsy route for the protagonists in a way that other authors can’t make me do.

I was seriously excited about reading this book on my recent holiday (I waited until I went so I could look forward to my treat) and as usual I wasn’t disappointed. I have to say though, that despite loving this book, it was not one of my favourites. The beginning was set in a night club and there was lots of drinking and swearing (don’t get me wrong, I’m a potty mouth with the best of them, but I like a little more decorum in my books for some reason).

Bronte is over from Australia and on holiday in London when she meets the gorgeous Alex who she ends up having a one night stand with. She doesn’t see him again until two years later when Bronte moves to London to work for a magazine and ends up sharing an office with Alex (who by this time is back with his long term girlfriend whom he was on a short break from at the time he met Bronte).  There are unresolved feelings and Bronte finds herself falling for Alex in a big way. Also, central to the plot is fellow Aussie, Lachie, who she meets when doing freelance wedding photography and they become firm friends. Lachie is younger than Bronte and carefree but seems to really like Bronte.

What I liked about this book was that it explored the possibilty that it is possible to be in love with two people at the same time. Bronte struggles with who she wants to be with, and because it’s so brilliantly written, we the reader, also struggle. Often with plots where there are more than one love-interest it’s easy to decide who we want our heroine to be with, but I can honestly say that I struggled as much as Bronte with this one.

I won’t spoil it and say who she ends up with, but even then it could have gone either way for me.

 

  In Summary:

Once again, a hit from this author. I would give it 4 satrs but only because, for me, it wasn’t in my Top 3. If you haven’t read any Paige Toon – do it now!

Leave a Reply

