The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

liane moriartyWhat I thought:

This book has so many great reviews on Amazon, and well deserved I might add, which is why I was persuaded to take it on holiday with me as I wanted something page-turning but not too taxing. Having a bit of mystery thrown in the mix too made this a good choice for me. The only problem I have is that I read so many crime / thriller type books that I pretty much work things out every time in a book way before they happen and so the “shock” and “twists” that other reviewers gush over are rarely more than a “Yep, thought so” for me. I find it HIGHLY irritatating by the way (me, that is, not the books…)

So what’s it about? Cecelia Fitzpatrick is wife and mother extraordinaire. She cooks, bakes, looks immaculate and runs a successful tuperware company while being mother to three daughters and wife to John Paul. One day while searching for something in the attic she comes across a letter addressed to her (in John Paul’s handwriting) that reads “For my wife – to be opened only in the event of my death”. At first she doesn’t succumb to temptation and it is only John Paul’s suspicious behaviour when she mentions it to him that makes her open it.

For a good third of the book, we the reader, are not privvy to the contents of the letter. This served to irritate me slightly (get on with it) and also intrigue me enough to keep turning those pages furiously. However, because there had been so much back story by then I already had my suspicions about what was in the letter and, disappointingly, I was right. Oh I do love it when I find a book that makes me shreek “What??? No way! I didn’t see that coming!” Sigh.

 

Verdict:

What’s good about this book is that the characters are very human. There are real emotions going on and people you can empathise with, which always helps me to engage with a book more. The plot is a good one despite the fact that I guessed several things ahead of time, it didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the book at all; I wanted to know what was going to happen next and it did keep me interested.

I would recommend this book for when you have a lot of time on your hands as you may find it difficult to put down. A good and enjoyable read.

 

Have you read this or anything else by this author? Can you recommend any other books with clever twists or shock moments?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

  1. Thanks for your blog- from someone who doesn’t have the time to read to the moment, it’s a great way to read vicariously! Please keep the books coming 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

