Precious Thing by Colette McBeth

precious-thing-coverWhat I thought:

I barely even know where to start with this one, it was seriously that bad. I was open-mouthed with incredulity by the time I had finished it; I cannot believe that this got published!

The book is written, mainly, in letter form from Rachel to Carla both of whom have been best friends since school. Rachel is now a news correspondant and has to report on the disappearance of Carla who appears to have vanished off the face of the earth. Other reviews I have read about this book would have you believe that it is pyschologically thrilling and a page-turner. Not so. Honestly, despite not loving every book I read, I always try to say at least something good about it as I don’t believe in being mean about someones work…until now.

 

Verdict:

Both plot and characters are two-dimensional, the coincidences are ludicrous and the narrative is appallingly junior. To say it felt like something written by a high school student is probably a huge insult to high school students. I read this book until the end for two reasons: 1) I was on holiday and had read all my other books, 2) I really hoped that whatever was in store for me in the conclusion of this book was worth the effort of getting through it. It wasn’t. In fact, it was so bad I cursed myself for wasting my own time. Bad, bad, bad!

 

Have you read it? Do you think I have been unfair? I’d love to know your opinion.

 

 

Leave a comment