Book Review: Until You’re Mine by Samantha Hayes

16142191

What I thought:

I decided to take this book on holiday as the reviews I had read promised a page-turner and that’s exactly what I needed to get me through a long flight. I wasn’t disappointed. In fact, I ended up staying up until silly-o’clock to finish it.

Zoe Harper takes a job with a wealthy suburban family in Birmingham. Dad, James, is in the Navy and away at sea a lot, his wife Claudia is 8½ months pregnant with their first child, although she is also step mum to four-year-old twin boys who were born to James’ first wife who died of cancer when they were only 2 months old.

We know right from the start that there is something not quite right about Zoe’s story, and she soon rewards our suspicions by snooping around the family home and succeeds in putting Claudia on edge (despite everyone telling her it’s just her hormones).

Meanwhile, there is an horrific murder in another part of town – a young girl who is full-term and about to give birth, is found murdered with her baby cut out of her (don’t worry, there aren’t any gratuitous scenes here). Both mother and baby are dead and it becomes a double murder investigation headed by DI Lorraine Fisher and her husband DI Adam Scott.

The story is told form the viewpoints of the three main women in the book – Zoe, Claudia and Lorraine, and while it is up to the reader to work out who is telling the truth and who isn’t, it also appears that the women have more in common than they think.

 

Verdict:

A brilliant page-turner with a corker of an ending. Being an avid crime book fan I find that I don’t often get surprised any more which is why when a book comes along that still has the “gasp-factor” I love it! Actually, I did guess at one part of the ending, but there was another equally big surprise awaiting me. There are clues dotted around (mostly towards the end) but  love a book that makes me say “oh!” once I realise what’s happened…

 

Have you read this book? What did you think? Can you recommend any similar books that will give me that surprise ending?

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Until You’re Mine by Samantha Hayes

Leave a Reply

