A Life Without Limits by Chrissie Wellington

In three words:

Inspirational, passionate, engaging

 

 

What I thought:

I admit – I had never heard of Chrissie Wellington. I am a recent conver to cycling and swimming in particular and I kept coming across this book so I was intrigued to find out why so many glowing reviews.

Chrissie Wellington is an extraordinary woman – she never started out life wanting to be a sportswoman, despite being a member of the local swimming club. What is aparant from her early life, though, is her passion and dedication to everything she cares about: Chrissie does nothing at half measures and sets out to win at pretty much everything she does (academic, career or sport). Not only that, but Chrissie came to this sport late – not even competing in her first race until she was in her 30’s.

What is fantastic about this book is that it grips you from the beginning and doesn’t let you go. Chrissie takes the reader through her younger life and early career to show us how she came to be the winner of so many Ironman triathlons. Her early travels and career which took her all over the world, pretty much, were just as intersting to me as the “sports bits” as it really shows us the sort of person that she is. Cycling with friends though Nepal was also a grounding for her future career in competing triathlons and I loved hearing about the rides and adventures she went on there as well as New Zealand, Argentina and so many other places. Chrissie’s passion for the charities she worked for shone through too and I am sure it is this dogged determination that has seen her win so many races since.

Verdict: Whether you are a lover of sport or not, I would highly recommend this book. It is engaging, interesting, passionate and a gripping read. And even if you haven’t even got on a bike in the last 20 years (like I hadn’t until recently) I guarantee you’ll be wanting to enter an Ironman after reading this…

 

  What do you think about sports biographies? Have you read any others that you can recommend?

 

3 thoughts on “A Life Without Limits by Chrissie Wellington

  1. Sounds like an interesting book. Well I made no mistakes when reading the title and actually it caught my attention, it’s really captivating. I hope though that the book be inspiring and am glad that I can get a copy on Amazon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

