Greenbanks by Dorothy Whipple

In three words:

Charming, family, WW1

 

 

What I thought:

I had seen a few reviews of this book recently as it is a newly re-published book by Persophone so when I caught sight of this small, battered and stained copy languishing on the shelves of my library (also apparantly neglected as it has only been checked out twice in four years) I knew it had to come home with me.

What a wonderful and charming book this is. Written in 1932, Greenbanks tells the story of the Ashton family spanning from around 1910 to 1925. It is centered around the house, Greenbanks, in the Lancashire village of Elton, and revolves mainly around Louisa Ashton, Mother and Grandmother. Louisa has five (very different) children who have all started to make their own way in the world too and so Louisa dotes on her 4 year old Granddaughter, Rachel. Greenbanks may be a lovely, beautifully written book about a family in a grand old house but there is plenty of room for sibling rivalry, illegitimate births, divorce, tyranical fathers and heartache. In fact all these are done so well that I was in awe of how well Whipple understood human emotion such as depression, jealousy, shame and love.

The book is set at during the early part of the last century when ideas and ideals are shifting and in particular Whipple explores the changing roles of women at this time. Louisa is the gentle, kind head of Greenbanks (after her philandering husband dies) but her daughters are exploring new territories that are still thought of as a huge embarassment to the gossiping folks of Elton. Daughters Letty and Laura both carving out new paths for themselves and lodger Kate Barlow still lives the shame and stigma of having an illegitimate child all those years ago. Granddaughter Rachel, much to her Father Ambrose’s profound disappointment, is intelligent and is desperate to continue her studies at University when she grows up, but Ambrose wants a dutiful daughter who will greet him at the door and “take his hat”.

The character of Ambrose Harding is actually one of my favourite characters despite his prigishness and I found him (unintentionally on his part) very amusing:  he is so old-fashioned and is constantly baffled as to why people don’t behave the way he expects and wants them to.

 

“And he did not believe in all this education for women; in fact, he considered knowledge definitely unbecoming to them. It destroyed their charm; they did not listen so well if they knew too much.”

 

“That’s what this modern education did for them. These modern girls, smoking, riding motor-bicycles, flying airplanes, breaking speed records; they would do anything for notice. What else could it be for? Men did these things for the love of them, to try them out, or to advance knowledge, experience, but women did them for notice, just to get into the papers, to be made a fuss of.”

 

The quotes made me laugh, especially when I think of how times have changed now. But even with Ambroses sexist rants I could still sympathise with him to a degree as he was born in an age where men were head of the house and no one (especially a wife or daughter) would ever question him. His three other children (all boys) were a huge disappointment to him also as they didn’t follow the direction he wanted them to follow and went their own way; Ambrose felt unloved and and couldn’t understand why. Such a brilliantly drawn character.

A final quote that made me laugh (because it could have been me saying it) Iwas when Letty who in frustration cries:

 

“”Is there something wrong with me?” she asked in alarm. “This is no more than other women have to put up with. Why don’t I like housekeeping?””

 

Verdict: I highly recommend this gorgeous book. Perfect for a Sunday afternoon with a cup of tea (or in the bath, or in the postoffice queue….pretty much anywhere really). Loved it!

 

  Have you read anything by Whipple? Which others do you recommend?

8 thoughts on “Greenbanks by Dorothy Whipple

  1. I have read: They were sisters. They knew Mr Knight, The Priory, Someone at a Distance and High Wages, each of them published by Persephone. I loved them all. I have a Persephone book of her short stories The Closed Door waiting to be read. I really really want Greenbanks and love the sound of it, thanks for the review.

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you loved this too. The only other Whipple I’ve read is High Wages – good, but not in the same league as Greenbanks – but I do plan on catching up with her other books before too long.

    Like

  3. I read this in 2004 or 2005, and yet I remember nothing at all about it, even when I read reviews… oh well, it’ll be like reading an entirely new novel, then! Have you read Someone At A Distance? It’s so, so good. I’ve only read a few Whipples, lots more to explore, but SAAD is in a class of its own.

    Like

  4. I got a copy of Greenbanks from my Persephone Secret Santa and I really want to read it soon. It sounds so wonderful! What a fascinating setting and interesting characters – it is moving to the top of my tbr.

    Like

  5. Greenbanks was my first Whipple and I loved it. Ambrose was a fabulous character – the scene where he took Letty shopping when they went to London was classic. I hope to read a lot more of this wonderful author.

    Like

Leave a Reply

