Bookish Gifts

 I must have been a good girl this year

After regulsarly complaining that I don’t get bookish gifts for birthdays or Christmas (people assume that I can’t possibly want more when I already have so many – oh but I do!!!), this year I haven’t done too badly.

From my mum and dad I got a lovely book with short Christmas stories by various different authors (both past and present) and a gorgeous address book with quotes about reading (of which I shall be posting some soon) and also a pack of bookmarks (one can never have too many).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From my lovely cousin Sara and her family I got Elizabeth Gaskell’s Wives and Daughters which I have been wanting to read for ages as I loved North and South and her Gothic Tales. I also got a note book and a journey planner which I love as we go away a lot and I can now start planning my reading about the places we go:

I am a member for an online group  in Goodreads (there are 15 of us – 2 Brits, one Australian, one Candian and the rest Amreicans) and we have been really close since getting to know each other on one of the larger groups on Goodreads and setting up our own group aside from that about 4 years ago. Every year we do a Secret Santa where we make a list of 5 books each that we really want and then one of the partners of the group send out who has who so it’s a secret to us all and then we send out our gifts. This year we couldn’t open before Christmas as mine and one other package went missing and we were waiting for them to arrive. My Secret Santee, the wonderful Jen from USA, was so worried that mine hadn’t turned up that she sent me another package (with 2 books in it!) and the very next day the first package turned up so I ended up getting three books off my list! We had the grand unveiling last night where we all go online together and open them and it’s really good fun – everybody ripping open their parcels and posting little comments and refreshing to see what other people have put. My husband rolled his eyes when I told him how much fun it is; maybe you just have to be a book-nerd to understand the excitement 😉

Anyway, the fabulous Jen sent me Hunger by Knut Hamsun, Armadale by Wilkie Collins and Brave New World by Aldous Huxley. I also got a book bag and two bookmarks! I love them all. I have been very spoilt!

And finally…

No Christmas is complete without a little treat for oneself 😉

I have almost finished The Mayor of Casterbridge and it is shaping up to be one of my all-time favourites. And I couldn’t resist the Oscar Wilde Complete Short Fiction for reasons I shall explain when I post about it.

Did Santa visit your house too?

17 thoughts on “Bookish Gifts

  1. Wonderful! That is a lot of bookish presents. I love it how your online club has become a real-time online club (at least once a year).

    I got a book case, no books. But very happy with it.

    Like

  2. Wow!!! I love your presents. I think it’s really lovely how you all get together year after year and have a secret santa. I guess I don’t get the most from goodreads as I should. Thanks for sharing this, it was great. 🙂

    Like

  3. Ah, isn’t the Mayor of Casterbridge wonderful!? I read it about this time last year and loved every moment of it! I don’t read many Classics but I will always make an exception for Mr Hardy.

    And what a wonderful book bounty you received. I never get books as gifts either, but this year Mr Reading Matters gave me Caitlin Moran’s How To Be A Woman, which I’m looking forward to reading, a very dear blog friend in Australia sent me a gift voucher for an online Australian book store, so I was delighted to have a little spend up!

    Like

  4. Wow, you got some great stuff! I didn’t get any books from Santa, but I did get some cash and Amazon gift cards so I won’t go empty handed. I love Mr. Hardy also and am going to read The Return of the Native later this year. He is awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

