Blogging plans for 2012

I have noticed something…

…I am rubbish at making plans. OK, not strictly true – I am great a making plans, just rubbish at sticking to them.

After a very murderous 2011, I have an urge for something a little gentler right now and I plan to raid my own shelves in 2012 and read some of what I actually own. This year I have had the absolute best fun reading about serial killers and detectives and crime fiction was all I craved for a long time: I will still be reading crime fic in 2012 as it is one of my favourite genres but at the moment I am craving books that have been sat on my shelves and whispering my name for years.

So, knowing full well that these best-laid plans will fall by the way-side by around mid January, let’s have a little fun pretending for now:

 

  Plan #1 – The Victorians

I am dying to get back to the Victorian classics and have read Little Women and Oscar Wilde’s Complete Short Fiction over Christmas. These are also some authors that I would like to read more of in the new year.

Charlotte Bronte

Jane Eyre and Villette are two of my favourite books of all time and so this year I’d like to read Shirley.

Thomas Hardy

I have only read Tess of the D’Urbervilles and think it’s about time I read some more. I am thinking The Mayor of Casterbridge and Jude the Obscure first.

Charles Dickens

This Master of the Tome has always been slightly daunting to me (despite me loving Great Expectations and A Christmas Carol) but this year I am determined to read at least one more of his and on my hit list are David Copperfield, Oliver Twist and The Old Curiosity Shop.

Mary Elizabeth Braddon

I absolutely loved Lady Audley’s Secret and have heard great things about Aurora Floyd so that will be next. I just love Victorian sensational novels.

Elizabeth Gaskell

I loved North and South and my cousin bought me a copy of Wives and Daughters for Christmas which I have heard great things about.

Wilkie Collins

I have only read The Woman in White so it is high time I picked up more of Collins’ work and next up are Moonstone and Armadale.

 

 

  Plan #2 – The French

I love reading books set in France or by French authors. At the end of February I am going to Paris for 4 days so I plan to read some Paris-based books before I go to get me in the mood:

Emile Zola

I have only read Thérèse Raquin and I am about ¼ of the way through Germinal but I would also like to read The Belly of Paris or The Ladies Paradise this year.

Victor Hugo

I am thinking about joining in the year-long read-a-long of this book, hosted by Kate at Kate’s Library as I have wanted to read it for years and it does seem like a good way to do this, but like I said, I am crap at sticking to plans so let’s see…

Two other authors I would like to read are Ernest Hemingways’ A Moveable Feast and George Orwell’s Down and Out in Paris and London and some shorter stories by Guy de Maupassant.

 

 

  Plan #3 – Authors I want to read more of

I have a habit that goes like this: I read a book by an author, I love it, I buy a tonne of other books by that same author, they sit on my shelves waiting to be picked up.

So, with that in mind, plan #3 entails taking said books down from said shelves, dusting them off and actually reading them. Authors include:

Edith Wharton

Daphne du Maurier

Margaret Atwood

Sarah Waters

John Steinbeck

Cormack McCarthy

Agatha Christie

Jose Saramago

 

 

  Plan #4 – Authors I want to read for the very first time

I also have a habit of buying books by authors I think I should be reading but never get round to. Yes, I’m looking at you

Doris Lessing

Ernest Hemingway

China Melville

Amoz Oz

 

 

  Plan #5 – Books I have waited to read for far too long

There are certain books that have been on my wishlist for reading for so long that I almost cringe out of guilt when I hear them mentioned. Fortunately, two of them are being read this year in my on-line book club: Gone with the Wind and The Grapes of Wrath. Others that look at me longingly from my shelves are: Shantaram, Shogun and My Antonia.

 

 

  Plan #6 – Review Copies

I successfully managed to avoid the great publisher/blogger debate that was doing the rounds last month, and I still intend to. What I will say is that when an unexpected (or expected) package lands on my doormat I still get that feeling like it’s my birthday and Christmas rolled into one. There is not much more exciting than ripping the packaging off something book-shaped. Having said that, I do regularly get overwhelmed with the number of books that drop through my letterbox and my guilt at not reading them all still hounds me, but this year I have decided that I want to concentrate more on the books I already have rather than spending the majority of my reading time on proof copies. It’s a tough one really as despite the fact that  a) I don’t get the time to read them all and b) abandom some pretty quickly, two of the unsolicited copies that arrived at my house this year (and to be honest, I may not have picked up myself in a shop) ended up on my top 10 of 2011 list.

So, there are my current plans for 2012. This may change. In fact, this probably will change. Afterall, when something new and shiny lands on the doormat, what’s a girl to do? 😉

 

 

  Do you have blogging plans for 2012?

 

 

44 thoughts on “Blogging plans for 2012

  1. Great post….and we’re all guilty of the dreaded ‘to do list’ I’m yet to meet anyone who actually fully sticks to them. Some great recommendations….look forward to reading more from you…. 🙂

    Like

  2. I read a lot of books but your plans would make me cry before the year has started. Too much, too much, I’d say! But hey, they’re YOUR plans, and you’re likely to get at least some of these books/authors read, so good luck!

    My plans are to blog less, try and read more books that I want to read, pass on review books that look nice, but not nice enough, and get myself an ereader.

    Like

  3. These are great plans. As a fan of detective fiction, I know how addictive those books can be. In fact, when I get home after a horrible day at school, all I want is “some blood and murder” to relax. But, I see you included The Moonstone and Daphne DuMarier, that although not stricly detective fiction, there is a mystery.

    Good luck with your plans and remember that the best thing is to be happy and keep reading, not following your plans 🙂

    Like

  4. Oh wow, that sounds like a great master-plan!
    I have read many of the books you mentioned and loved them. Shantaram was great, so was The Woman in White, The Grapes of Wrath and Jane Eyre and I could go on.
    Have you read Wuthering Heights, The Little Stranger and The Age of Innocence?
    My plan is to try and post more and also to host my first give-away. I’m quite excited about that!

    Like

  5. Great list of plans! Best of luck with them =) I hope you enjoy Gaskell’s Wives and Daughters; I read it a few years ago and it was a fantastic read! (and the adaptation starring Justine Waddell was also lovely) Your list has encouraged me to think about my own plans reading and blogging wise in the coming year, some of which includes a bit of re-reading and getting through some of those thick classic novels (i.e. Dostoevsky’s The Idiot, Eliot’s Middlemarch) xD

    Like

  6. Pingback: rulethewaves.net » Blog Archive » Random: Blogging Plans for 2012

  7. I love your plan for the French and the Victorians!! I haven’t read Shirley yet, but I own it and ADORED Villette and Jane Eyre. I also recommend Anne Bronte, though I’ve only read one of hers, so far.

    Also (shouted with glee) –

    Gone With the Wind!!!!!!!!!!!!

    That is all. 🙂

    Like

  8. That looks like a great plan!

    I’ve drifted too much towards crime fiction this year, and next year I plan to be pickier and get back to reading more classics, historical novels and non fiction.

    I’m only two chapters in, but I do recommend Les Miserables. It is very readable and marking off the weekly schedule makes it look so much less intimidating

    Like

  9. Wow, with those plans I would already be intimidated before the year even started. I agree with Judith, this would be too much for me. I decreased my reading goal for 2012 considerably as I didn’t finish the 100 books I was aiming at this year. Like you I am great at making plans, not so much at sticking to them.

    Like

  10. I love your lets pretend for now 🙂 hahahha. I have a Challenge specific to your #3 plan if interested. I Want More Challenge.

    I definitely enjoy reading to my mood instead of lots of review books or ARC’s. I did good with not accepting and getting overwhelmed so we will see.

    Happy New Year Boof

    Like

  11. Your plan sounds much like mine . Back to the Classics particularly the Victorians is top of my list and reading off the ” I’ll read it one day’ tbr. I recommend Shantaram and Shogun – monsters of books both them but great reading.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  12. Congrats on focusing on the classics. LIke you, I like mysteries and will probably continue reading them in 2012 and add a few other genres as well. Happy New Year of reading.

    Like

  13. I put myself out there for ARC’s and was very quickly overwhelmed. And, I felt guilty if I couldn’t read those books in front of the ones I really wanted to read. I put a stop to it just as quickly as it started. I’m allowing some review copies now but only at my request. If I reach the point where I feel it’s getting out of control again, I will stop it again. And, I will NOT commercialize my reviews. I won’t say I liked something or even give it a light review just because it was given to me…it’s kinda like dancing with the devil in some ways 😉 Me the reader is more important than any publisher or even author…we all have to draw the line somewhere…especially when we are easily distracted by shiny new books on the doorstep 😉 (like me) 🙂

    Like

  14. Boof — Happy almost 2012, my friend!! I think this sounds lovely. I plan to spend New Year’s Day (day off from work!) setting about my list of Reading Resolutions for 2012(with a printout of a certain other group’s challenge tasks to help guide me a bit! *L*)

    But I am once again DETERMINED to BLOG for 2012!! I know I keep on and on about how much I want to do it, but damnit, I’m just going to jump in and it is what it is!

    I also feel guilty about the handful of ARC’s/contest win books I have received but not yet read (and the great book gods know just how many, many, MANY unread wonders are sitting around MY apartment!) I liked my little “lists of five” that I did last year, so I think I’m going to work off that theme again (hopefully with a bit more success!) I still am a firm believer in reading what I love, plus expanding my horizons, so my lists will be a mix of some things/authors I’ve always wanted to read, some that I am going to dip my feet into with others bookie friends, and continuing on with some of my favorite series/authors. If at the end of the year I’ve read more books in 2012 than in 2011, I’ll be a happy girl 🙂

    And we’ll see how much longer my book-buying fast can hold out…it’s coming up on two months since I purchased a book *GASP*!!!

    Cheers to a book-filled 2012 🙂

    Like

  15. Well, I just want to get through my TBR-pile, but I know I never will. Whenever I come in the library, bookstore,… I pick up a book and can’t put it down. I’m not in the blogging world for that long and I don’t receive proof copies every day, so every time I receive one I’m really happy, but I know my for-review pile is growing (fast)! It’s a dilemma: reading or not? I totally agree with you opinion!

    Like

  16. That’s an interesting plan!

    In preparation of your trip to Paris, I warmly recommend Bel Ami by Maupassant, if you haven’t read it yet. It’s an amazing novel, very modern and empowering, and it’s set in Paris!

    Like

  17. Shogun has been staring at me for far too long too. Perhaps we should have a readalong later in the year? I’ve been reading Shantaram for the past few months – it is fantastic! I don’t want it to end so I highly recommend that you take it off your shelf – when you start reading you’ll be glad it is as long as it is. Have a wonderful 2012!

    Like

  18. I love your plans – even if you abandon them completely! I will say that you can’t go wrong with Edith Wharton or Sarah Waters and I think your Victorian plans are divine – I’m going to read more of the Victorians also. Whatever you read, I wish you the best! Happy 2012!

    Like

  19. So can anyone please tell me how to get my hands on some ARC? I need shiny book parcels delivered to my door… Maybe they don’t do them here in Aus, as I’ve tried Googling but no success 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

