Divergent by Veronica Roth

In three words:

Dystopian, violent, bravery

 

 

What I thought:

Up until about a week ago I hadn’t even heard of this book. Then I saw that it had won both Best YA book and Best Book of 2011 on Goodreads as voted by the members. I was curious about this book that hadn’t reached my radar yet and upon reading the reviews discovered that it was being hailed as the new Hunger Games (which is one of my all-time favourite books). A day or so later I happened to be in a bookshop (what are the chances? Okay, I jest, I am almost a permanent fixture in bookshops) and saw a copy of Divergent staring out at me from the shelves and I just had to have it.

Before I comment on my thoughts I will briefly outline the plot for those, like I was, are unfamiliar with it: This is a world sometime in the future and set in a city that I believe was once Chicago (as the now-abandoned Sears Tower is based there). Every person in this city belongs to one of five factions: Abnegation (selflessness), Erudite (learning), Amity (kindness), Candor (honesty) or Dauntless (bravery). Beatrice Prior (or Tris as she becomes known) is a member of Abnegation and the book starts with the day that she and every other 16 year old from all factions undergo a test to see which faction they will belong to from then on: if they chose a faction other than the one that they were born into it means betraying their families and potentially never seeing them again). However, Tris’s test doesn’t turn out quite as she had expected as her results mean that she could choose one of 3 factions. She is told in confidence that this is because she is a Divergent but she must not tell anyone, even her family, as this is an extremely dangerous thing to be. On the day of the choosing ceremony, Tris abandons her family to join the Dauntless faction and that is where the adventure starts.

I thought the idea of this was brilliant and I was excited to find out about the factions and how Tris’s choice to join Dauntless would affect her. However, the more I read the more disillusioned I became: I never felt that I got a proper sense of the city or why it was like that or why the factions had come about and I would have liked to have learnt more. Also, as the book moved along I became more and more frustrated at why each person would only fit into one of the factions; afterall I don’t know anyone who is honest but can’t be kind or intelligent with it or brave but can’t be honest etc. I would expect that the majority of people would fit into more than one category – I certainly would; in fact I think I could fit into all of them (except Dauntless ironically – particularly after reading what they had to go through).

As well as some other minor annoyances, I did have one huge dislike too and that was the violence that went on for chapters and chapters. Each faction had to train its new recruits to pass an initiations (and those who fail are kicked out and become known as factionless and have to live on the streets), and despite knowing that the Dauntless faction was all about bravery, I found most of their training completely over the top and unsavoury to read. Fighting each other until someone passes out, throwing knives at each other, almost killing someone to test their mettle: I accept that some of this may have been necessary to show us what they recruits had to go through but for it to go on for so long and to be so brutal left a really bad taste in my mouth.

I would really have liked to know more about the other factions and how the city came to be like this but we got little information about anything outside the Dauntless compound until the end. Is this just in one city? Are there other cities exactly the same with their own compounds and set of factions? None of that was even addressed, never mind answered. I know this is the first book in a trilogy so maybe some of this will be answered in the future books, but even a little teaser or snippets of info would have been good.

Despite my little rants, I sort of enjoyed this book. I understand that it is the debut novel written by a 23 year old and that has to be commended. I hope that the books become tighter and more polished as the series continues and I am curious enough to want to read them to see what happens.

Verdict: Some major disappointments and it certainly is no Hunger Games (not in my mind at least). Aside from my ramblings though, it is still a fast-paced adventure story and should appeal to the masses.

(Source: I bought this book myself)

 

18 thoughts on “Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. I’ve been seeing a lot on the web about this book, too, and plan on buying it on my now weekly trip to the bookstore! I have always LOVED to read, but it seems this passion has been fueled recently with all of the book bloggers I have found!!! I’m glad I teach and tomorrow is our last day so I will have time to feed this addiction! 🙂

    Shannon
    http://extremereadingandwriting.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. I’ve seen this book everywhere! Which rock have you been hiding under? Or was it the closet under Tess Gerritsen’s staircase? Most likely! The book is especially popular amongst YA readers and I seem to end up on their blogs regularly.

    The book looks good to me if you like post-apocalyptic novels (which I do), so I may read it it I find it in the library one day).

    Like

  3. We may have been under the same rock, because I haven’t come across this book before.

    I dabble in this kind of book very occasionally, and though I am curious about what made this book so popular I am inclined to pass. Too many other books are calling louder.

    Like

  4. I was really surprised that this one won best title because although it had some interesting ideas, I really felt like it was too long without giving out enough information. The worldbuilding definitely wasn’t a strong part of the story and although I’ll read the sequel, I hope that it will plug some of the gaps.

    You’re right though – it aint no The Hunger Games.

    Like

  5. I liked the book, but I did have some major problems with it. WHY oh WHY did Dauntless have to fight all the time? WHAT was the point or all of it? It was trying to be Hunger Games-ish with having violence etc, but failed because there really wasn’t a purpose. I mean, seriously?

    Like

    • Mary, EXACTLY!! That was my problem with the whole fighting and violence thing – what was the point? In the Hungers Games they were fightihng for their own lives, but why did nobody question what they were doing in Dauntless???

      Like

  6. I just finished this book. Maybe it was all the hype – but I expected more. It just did not have the depth of world building or character development I would have liked. I think the premise was really interesting and I did enjoy reading it. However, I keep going back to The Hunger Games or The Chaos Walking trilogy and it didn’t even compare. Thanks for your review!

    Like

  7. I found Divergent amazing. I like the writing style and the inner voice of the main character. I have problems with Hunger Games anytime it leaves the battlefield of the competitions : Katness seems pretty whiny about everything.
    I was surprised to like it so much and I am waiting for Insurgent to be released!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Divergent by Veronica Roth | Iris on Books

Leave a Reply

