Cage of Bones by Tania Carver

In three words:

Disappointing, farfetched, pacey

 

 

What I thought:

This was my first foray into husband-and-wife-team Tania Carver’s books, the first two which have somehow passed me by and which I now think I should have read first as I had heard good things about them, only to be somewhat let down by Cage of Bones.

The book opens with a couple of builders making their way into a derilict building and being confronted with a small feral child who has been locked up in a cage made out of human bones. The boy is whisked to hospital and the police called in to investigate who he was and how he ended up here. Around the same time, a young woman who has been working as a prostitute is kidnapped and flees her capter only to then be knocked over by an oncoming car. While these cases my seem unrelated, hints are dropped to the reader that all may not be what it seems.

The above paragraph is not what I had a problem with; I was on board with the boy in the cage and the terrified fleeing woman, but where I had a problem was the other part of the story (which I really can’t go into detail about as it would spoil the book). I don’t have a problem suspending my belief, afterall I read enough crime fiction, but this was almost bordering on the ridiculous. Again this part of the plot on its own may have been belivable but linking it back to the boy in the cage didn’t sit well with me at all.

The other problem I had with this book was the narrative: Most sentences started without using he, she, I, they etc for example “Perhaps they would love his work at the demolition company so much he’d be promoted. Move on up the company until he was top man. Cam smiled. Walked on.” It was like this the whole way through the book and really started to irritate me, especially as all the characters talked in exactly the same way – use pronouns damn you all!!

Verdict: Perhaps I’ve read so much crime fiction lately that I am becoming more aware of what is clever crime writing and what is supermarket fodder (and I am disappointed in myself for even saying that as I am a huge supporter of books sold in supermarkets if it brings books to the masses) but this really did feel like that – it felt amateurish and like I wanted to run a big red pen all through it.

(Source: I received a copy of this book for review from Sphere publishing)

 

  Have you read this book or anything else by Tania Carver? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Cage of Bones by Tania Carver

  1. I started to read the first one but found it rubbish, of the (all-too-common) genre of written at the reading level of a 5-year-old but content X rated. The first one was about someone who killed women by ripping out their foetuses – bad enough, but when it turns out that the detective is an (attractive) pregant woman, that was it for me – too predictable and I hate all that schlocky stuff anyway. Still, I am sure the authors are crying all the way to the bank.

    Like

Leave a Reply

