World Book Night 2012 List Announced

The brand new list of books for 2o12’s World Book Night has just been announced and this year there is an even bigger selection.

 I have read 10 of the 20 books listed so now I need to pick wich of those ten I want to give out. At the moment I am having trouble narrowing it down between I Capture the Castle, The Book Thief,The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic , The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox, The Road and The Time Travellers Wife. Sigh. For those who remember WBN 2011 earlier this year here is my first outing as a Secret Book Santa which was great fun.

 

The List

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
The Player of Games by Iain M Banks
Sleepyhead by Mark Billingham
Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
The Take by Martina Cole
Harlequin by Bernard Cornwell
Someone Like You by Roald Dahl
A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
Room by Emma Donoghue
Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
Misery by Stephen King
The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella
Small Island by Andrea Levy
Let the Right One In by John Ajvde Lindqvist
The Road by Cormac McCarthy
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox by Maggie O’Farrell
The Damned Utd by David Peace
Good Omens by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman
How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff
Touching the Void by Joe Simpson
I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak

 

 

  What do you think to the list?

  Will you be taking part in the next World Book Night?

  Which book will you pick?

 

13 thoughts on “World Book Night 2012 List Announced

  1. Oooh, I didn’t get my act together to apply this year – must make an effort next year! From that list, I’d choose The Remains of the Day.

    Like

  2. It depends what you want your choice to do; amuse (Bryson, Pratchett..), make the reader think about great injustices (O’Farrell), scare them rigid (Lindqvist), give them nightmares (McCarthy)…
    I live in France so can’t take part but if I could, I think I’d go for Good Omens on the grounds that everyone needs a really good repeated belly laugh from time to time.

    Like

  3. What an interesting and diverse list! I think I would go with Room by Emma Donoghue – something I think a variety of people would enjoy. I just saw the announcement today that World Book Night is coming to the US!! Woot!

    Like

  4. I’m not exactly sure what World Book Night is, but I think I’d like it! 🙂 I’ve read several of the books listed–and I’ve been curious about Mark Billingham, so he’s on my TBR list. But I digress 🙂 I think if I had to choose to give a book away, it might well be among The Remains of the Day (one of my favorite books of all time) or Rebecca (a page-turner) or A Tale of Two Cities, because of the story itself, but also because of the range of characters–the vilest of the vile and the most unexpectedly noble. Or–for a fun read–Notes from a Small Island. What a tough choice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

