Day 40 – Win one of my favourite books!

♫ ♪Happy Birthday to Me, Happy Birthday to Meeeeeeeee ♪ ♫…..

Well, this is it! I am now officially old! The BIG FOUR-OH has come knocking at my door and I have shuffled over to let it in. Only kidding! (not about being 40, but about the shuffling bit). Age is a state of mind and I still feel 17 (and still act it sometimes too ;))

My orginal challenge for today was to pick a favourite book about a celebration but I have changed my mind and I’m feeling very generous today so instead I am going to give away one of the books that I have mentioned in this series of post.

 

The Rules

All you have to do is leave a comment below saying which book you would like to receive and why and I will enter you into the draw. I will pick the winner using random.org on Wednesday 12th October at 6pm GMT so you have 3 days to enter. Here is a link to all my 40 posts so happy deciding.

 

Good luck!

 

51 thoughts on “Day 40 – Win one of my favourite books!

  1. Happy birthday, Boof! I’m eternally 39 so you overtaken me.

    Hope you have a great day. Here it’s rainy but hey, I’m sure you’ll have a good day anyway. Did you get any books….?

    I love giveaways and I can’t help but enter this one. Although it’s very hard, you’ve mentioned so many great books in the last 39 days – luckily I read quite a few of them already.

    Anyway, I’d love to win The Job by Douglas Kennedy. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Gentlemen and Players sounds really good! My favorite genre is mystery and I love a book that keeps me guessing and that has a surprise ending!

    Like

  3. Happy birthday! Hope you celebrate with all your family, friends… and books!

    Behind The Scenes At The Museum by Kate Atkinson sounds like the perfect book. I am a huge detective fiction fan and I was introduced to Atkison’s works by my favourite professor.

    Thanks for the giveaway!!!

    Like

  4. Wishing you a very, very happy birthday Boof! Your 40 day challenge has been a lot of fun 🙂

    Please enter me to win Witch Light/Corrag please.. thanks!

    Like

  5. Happy Birthday!!! As breast cancer survivor, it is easy for me to say that we should all me happy to reach every BD…lol…enjoy the big 40…as for the books…I think I might like…The Likeness…because you liked it so much!! Can you bear to give it up?

    Like

  6. Happy Birthday! 🙂 I hope you’ve a wonderful day.

    I would love to enter for Gentlemen and Players . The premise sounds really interesting, and also I am a fan of the author.

    Thanks!

    mishamary (at) gmail (dot) com

    Like

  7. Happy Birthday Boof, it was so much fun celebrating with you. Enjoy. You mentioned so many books, need to go look again to decide. 🙂

    You can choose for me – The Job, The Torment of Others, or Witch Light.

    I also downloaded HeartShaped Box, hope to get to it late this week or next weekend.

    Like

  8. Hope you are having a wonderful Birthday with celebrations apleanty!…..Curious about Crimson China by Betsy Tobin, I looked for a review which led me to your wonderful blog! and have never looked back! your love of books is imense as is mine. Would love to read The Collector John Fowles…sounds facinating…thank you.

    Like

  9. Oops, looks like the other one disappeared 😦

    Happy Birthday Boof, it was fun celebrating with you. Enjoy the day.

    You had so many great books, I would love The Job.

    BTW – I downloaded Heartshaped Box, will start this week or next weekend.

    Like

  10. Happy birthday, Boof! I hope you have a wonderful day with your loved ones. If I remember correctly there might not be bookish gifts for you?

    If I were to win I would love to read David Nicholl’s Starter For Ten, it sounds like so much fun.

    Like

  11. Happy 40th Birthday!

    It has been difficult to pick one book for this competition as your blog has added many to be TBR pile. However, I couldn’t resist the ‘book that changed your life’: The Secret History by Donna Tartt.

    Like

  12. Happy birthday! Thanks for the giveaway, too. I’ve found a lot of interesting-looking books through your posts. I think The Midwich Cuckoos looks most fascinating, though. I love science fiction, particularly when the plotlines are just…weird.

    Like

  13. Hi Boof and Happy Birthday! 🙂
    There are quite a few books here that seem very interesting. Some of them I’ve heard of and some are unknown to me so I’m going to take a chance and go for something from the “unknown” category.
    Witch Light by Susan Fletcher – because I like your review and because I’ve never heard of it and I do enjoy surprises. 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway.

    Like

  14. ¡¡Feliz cumpleaños!!, I really hope you’ve had an amazing day, and I think giving a book away it’s an amazing (and very generous) way of celebrating your birthday, giving feels as good as receiving… having said that, i would love to get The witch light, please! :oD

    Like

  15. Happy Birthday, Boof. I wonder if you got books for presents today?! I’d love to have Gentlemen and Players by Joanne Harris. Your post about it made me want to read it so badly. Thanks for your generous give-away.

    Like

  16. Happy birthday and congratulations! I am so glad to have discovered your blog, I’ve loved reading all your posts. I’d love to be entered into the drawing — I’m tempted by several but the book that intrigues me most is Gentleman and Players by Joanne Harris. I’ve read her food related fiction but I haven’t read her in years. I do love a good crime novel so I’m curious to read one of hers, it sounds quite different from Chocolat or Five Quarters of the Orange.

    I hope you have a great birthday and many more!

    Like

  17. Happy Birthday! I’ve really enjoyed reading your 40 day challenge posts 🙂 It makes a change from reading reviews and gets people talking about books that weren’t only published recently. It was hard to choose just one but out of all the books featured in your posts I’d love to win The Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill. I’ve been meaning to read one of his for a while now after hearing how great he is!

    Thanks for the competition 🙂 Have a great birthday!

    Like

  18. Many happy returns Boof, from one bookaholic to another.

    I enjoy reading your blog very much and would like to read Dog Boy by Eva Hornung as you asked why it isn’t more well-known – maybe I can help it along by passing it one when I’ve read it!

    All the best
    Sophie

    Like

  19. Happy birthday! I hope you’re having a wonderful time.

    You’ve highlighted some wonderful books, and the one calling me the loudest that isn’t on my shelves already is Witch Light.

    Like

  20. I am trying to exercise restraint given that I JUST got back from the used bookstore so I won’t enter your giveaway, but will simply wish you a happy happy birthday and hope you yourself receive plenty of books as gifts! 😉

    Like

  21. For starters, happy birthday 🙂

    I just started reading your blog and love it!! I would like to enter my choice for, Starter for ten. Laughter is the key to everything and from your review it sounds like a book I need to read. Thanks 🙂

    Like

  22. Happy Birthday!! I’d love a copy of Lady Audley’s Secret by Mary Elizabeth Braddon. I keep hearing about it and want to check it out! 🙂

    Thanks for hosting a giveaway!

    Like

  23. Happy, happy birthday young one! I’ll be 41 in December! 🙂 I REALLY wish I could win The Book Thief! I so love to cry with a good book! I have also found recently that I am loving historical fiction-wish I could have read novels back in high school/college to learn history! Anyway, happy birthday! Pick me-pick me-pick me! 🙂

    Shannon
    A 6th grade reading teacher who loves reading! (Just finished reading ROOM today!)
    http://6thgradescottforesmanreadingstreetresources.wordpress.com/

    Like

  24. Happy Birthday!!!

    It was actually an easy choice for me. I saw the movie THE HELP not long ago so the book is on the top of my reading list. There’s a Halloween costume – an evil Hilly Holbrook.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    Like

  25. Happy birthday, Boof! I don’t know if this is right to say or not, but I admit to being surprised you’re 40. I knew we’re close in age (I’m 37), but for some reason I thought we were about the same. Not that 3 years makes much difference. I don’t think 40 is old by any stretch of the imagination, but if I may say so, you are a young 40, in a good way.

    Okay, I’m not sure any of that came out right.

    In any case, I hope you had a splendid day, filled with lovely things and joy!

    Like

  26. Happy Birthday!! I’ve really enjoyed your 40 day Challenge. I wrote down the titles of several books I wanted to read from the Challenge and was also happy to see I had already read many. I think I’d like to win “Happy Birthday” by Christina Jones — Because it’s your birthday, and I just love chicklit mysteries. Thank you for the give away. What a nice way to celebrate your birthday — giving to others.

    Like

  27. Happy Happy Birthday, you generous person!
    You have read so many truely interesting books, books that I haven’t read! I have to make it down to the bookstore and see if I can find the ones that really captured my attention: The Torment of Others, Behind The Scenes At The Museum, Wolf Totem and expecially The Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill.That is the one I most want to read…The Heart Shaped Box.
    mom1248(at)att(dot)net

    Like

  28. Happy Birthday and many more. Thanks for all your recommendations and your emails – I love getting your critiques. The book that most intrigues me is Behind the scenes at the museum because you said you wished you had written it so I would love to read it!

    Like

  29. Many happy returns, Boof. And thankyou so much for the 40 day challenge – it’s been wonderful waiting for the new post each day. I now have an even bigger ‘to be read’ pile!!!

    Like

  30. Happy Birthday Boof and many, many happy returns…Hope you are celebrating and having a great time, hope you are spoilt rotten !
    I would love to enter the giveaway and possibly get “The Hunger Game” !
    My children love this series but they read it in french , I ‘d love to read the original version…

    Welcome to the” forties” planet…;-D
    Love and a big hug from France,
    Virginie

    Like

  31. Happy (belated) Birthday! I just wanted to say, I really enjoyed reading along for all 40 days. I am sure it was no small feat to post so regularly, but it was worth it from a reader’s end! I didn’t even realize how much I’d grown used to checking in every day until the past week… once it was over! Thanks for the posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

