Day 31 – A book that everyone else seems to love except me

Let me in at your window…

Actually,  the fact that I am the only one who doesn’t love this book isn’t strictly true as I know others who have struggled with it too, but the reason I have picked it is because I sort of feel I ought to love it: it’s written by a Bronte (√), it’s set in Yorkshire (√), it’s set on windswept moors (√), it’s gothic (√), it’s a love story (√). So why then don’t I love the damn thing? This book has all the ingredients for the perfect book for me! It’s not for lack of trying either: I have attempted to read Wuthering Height at least three times and each time I can’t even get past 100 pages.

 

The big question is:

  Do I keep trying? Is it worth it? Or should I just accept that Wuthering Heights and I don’t   get along and move on?

 

28 thoughts on “Day 31 – A book that everyone else seems to love except me

  1. I hate this book, I hate this book, I hate, I hate, I hate this book.

    You don’t get along obviously, neither did I. It’s just some ramblings by a girl that has never experienced anything in her life. She was stuck in a house much like that in Wuthering Heights but how can you reflect on life, love and a house on the moors if you’ve never been anywhere else? It’s boring. It’s unlikely. 🙂

    Like

  2. Count me in as another who really, really dislikes this book! I first read it at 18 after hearing so much about how it was the most epic love story blah blah blah and I could NOT believe what a pile of misery it was! Then I had to read it again this year for my literature degree and I have to say if possible, I liked it even less. Such a bunch of loathsome characters really. They all deserve each other and their unhappy little lives!

    Like

  3. I hated, hated, hated this book. I did not like a single character, and I wanted to jump into the book [like Thursday Next] and kill Cathy myself, all she does is whine. She’s not even an interesting trainwreck. She and Heathcliff deserve each other for all eternity. I’ve finished it, and it doesn’t get better, honestly.

    Sorry, was I ranting?

    Like

  4. Nah, after three goes, it’s more than acceptable to give up on this one!

    Let’s face it, it’s a depressing story about horrible people, for the large part. I liked it the first time I read it and liked it even more the second time around, but if you’re finding it just gets worse and worse, it’s clearly not going to improve the more you keep trying 🙂

    Like

  5. I haven’t read it but I totally think you should just move on, to many books, to little time, especially when you really gave it a go.

    The Time Traverler’s Wife was the one for me. I also tried 3 times, I did get past 100 pages but couldn’t stand it. The movie was ok but I see reviews with 5 stars and think what did I miss.

    Like

  6. I knew as soon as you mentioned the window that you were either going to mention Wuthering Heights or Twilight! Count me in your club, since I think this book is more of a cautionary tale about getting involved with sociopaths than it is a love story!

    Like

  7. I love Wuthering Heights but I often feel as if I’m in a minority for loving it rather than the other way round! I first read it when I was a teenager so I wonder if I would have felt differently if I’d read it for the first time as an adult?

    Like

  8. I liked the book – I gave it 8/10 in my review so I must have enjoyed it! I completely agree with those who say that Cathy is stupid and silly and the story has no particular resonance. But I couldn’t put it down.

    Interestingly people tend to love one of Jane Eyre and WH, and hate the other. I love Jane and like WH.

    Like

  9. This is one of my favourite books together with Jane Eyre. But I have to admit the first time I read it as a teen I found it SO difficult, especially all that dialect. Then I re-read it again in my early twenties (see, I can’t give up on books either) and loved it. Maybe something had changed in my life, who knows? I’d say give it another try after a few more years;P

    Like

  10. I read this like back in high school and don’t really remember how I felt about it, but you know if you’ve tried reading it 3 times and can’t get into it I say just give it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

