Day 26 – A favourite science-fiction book

One flew over…

I don’t read much science-fiction at all; it seems to be one of the few genres that I seem to avoid despite having really enjoyed the ones I have read. For that reason, for this challenge I didn’t have much to pick from so it made my job a bit easier. That said, the one I have picked I absolutely LOVED!

The Midwich Cuckoos by John Wyndham (author of The Day of The Triffids) starts as a normal day in a little English village until a bubble forms around the village that makes every single resident fall asleep. When they awake they are unaware of anything that is happened….that is until they discover that every girl or woman of child-bearing age is pregnant! The children of Midwich are the focus of the story as not only do they all look alike and only appear to want to be together and woe betide anyone who crosses them.

 

  Have you read anything by Wyndham? Which other authors might I enjoy?

 

4 thoughts on “Day 26 – A favourite science-fiction book

  1. That sounds interesting! I’ve read The Crysalids by Wyndham, which I enjoyed very much.

    This book sounds a little like Gone by Michael Grant, a YA dystopian story in which a dome has formed over a part of California, and all citizens over the age of 15 have disappeared.

    Your book sounds worth a read for sure.

    Like

  2. I read, and loved John Wyndham in my teens. H G Wells too. I’m not much of a sci-fi reader, but I do like those kind of stories about strange happenings and possible futures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

