Day 25 – A favourite chicklit book

It’s party time!

I do love to read chicklit from time to time – it’s my my way of comforting and soothing the soul or refreshing the palate between heavier reads. Shopping, handbags, office romances, holidays in the sun, I’m not fussy so long as it cheers me up and leaves me with a smile on my face.

I have spoken before about my favourite authors in this genre and Sophie Kinsella and Katie Fforde are my top two but I also really enjoy Jane Fallon, Paige Toon, Jane Green and Adele Parks to name a few more. The book I have chosen to go with, though, is by Christina Jones who is an author I haven’t mentioned on my blog before. Not only did I absolutely adore this book, but it’s also called Happy Birthday (and afterall this is my birthday challenge :)).

Happy Birthday host a wonderfully quirky cast an quaint English villages with funny names. The story centres on Phoebe, a list-making, highly-oragnised, horoscope reading hairdresser who turned up for her immaculately planned wedding to discover that the groom hasn’t. As Phoebe tries to come to terms with what’s happened and carry on alone, she has to put up with the return of Rocky, her noisy, bad-tempered neighbour as well. Then she meets Essie, a glamorous pensioner who dabbles in something called Happy Birthday magic and that’s when things take a turn…

Happy Birthday  is a wonderful, magical read. I adored all the characters and there is such humour and comedy moments that I laughed out loud in places. Loved, loved, loved it.

  Do you like chicklit books? Which books or authors would you recommend?

 

19 thoughts on “Day 25 – A favourite chicklit book

  1. I don’t know this author or book. Thanks for the recommendation. I’ve just today started a chick-lit by Colette Caddle – another author I’d never heard of. So far, it’s fun.

    My favorite chicklit authors are Marian Keyes and Katie Fforde but my favorite chicklit book is The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella.

    Like

  2. Chicklit is a genre that I rarely read. I like chic flicks but with books, they all seem the same thing, girl meets boy, boy leaves girl, girl gets sad then falls in love with Prince Charming, maybe I should try something in this genre with a bit of difference, this does seem fun though, maybe I’ll look out for it. I’ve seen you mention Kate Fforde several times, I’ll check her out… any recs?

    Like

  3. I don’t often read chiclit and I haven’t heard of Christina Jones before, but your description of this book is actually making me check it out! I’ll definitely look out for it, thanks 🙂

    Like

  4. I used to read a lot of authors who would be considered chick lit. People like Lisa Jewell, Freya North, Jane Green, Marian Keyes. My reading shifted in other direction when I moved back to Cornwall and my lifestyle changed, but I’ve just finished an Adele Parks novel that landed, unsolicited, in my porch a few months ago. I have to say that it was a very good book, if a little “glossier” than I like. And I have the new Emily Barr is in my library pile, looking very promising.

    The name of Christina Jones is familiar, but I’ve never taken a proper look at any of her books. Your recommendation is noted though.

    Like

  5. I used to read Maeve Binchy and Marian Keyes, but lately I’ve been disappointed by them. I’m really moving in another literary direction, reading a lot of mid-century British middlebrow fiction, which I guess could be considered vintage chick-lit. I really love Dorothy Whipple and D. E. Stevenson. And for a great comforting book, I like the Miss Read novels. I’ve read some Sophie Kinsella but the only one I really like is Can You Keep a Secret? The Shopaholic got kind of tiresome for me.

    Like

  6. I’ve never ever heard of the book or the author but I’m going to put the title on my wishlist since you loved it so much 🙂 I haven’t read any chicklit for ages now but now fall is coming with rain and snow, perfect time for a book that will make me smile.

    Like

  7. I adore christina Jones, I’ve tracked down and read all her books, and would highly recommend them.
    Not a great fan of chicklit, I find it a bit predictable, but light comedy about womens lives, well , getting to like that!!
    would also recommend Trisha Ashley and Milly johnson.

    Like

  8. I’ve only just been told about this – your fabulous blog and of course your amazing post about Happy Birthday – and I just want to say a huge, huge THANK YOU!!!! You’ve absolutely made my day – I’m a writer of very little confidence – and for you to pick HB as your chicklit choice has made me cry (I’m a bit emotional too…). Word of mouth is vital to all us midlisters (the authors the publishers don’t spend mega-bucks on) and this write up means so much to me. I’m so glad you enjoyed it – I loved writing it and I’m still in love with Rocky… And Phoebe and Rocky (and Slo and Essie) feature in my new book (Never Can Say Goodbye) which is out in Feb because I couldn’t let them go… sorry, I’m rambling now. Just wanted you know how very, very grateful I am. THANK YOU!
    Christina x

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by, Christina – how lovely to hear from you. I’m stunned that you’re a writer of little confidence – I absolutely adored HB! I have most of your others on my wishlist too (and have been eyeing up your new one) but I keep getting distracted by books sent by publishers. My new years resolutiuon is going to be to read more of my own stuff (books that I have wanted to read for ages).

      Good luck with the books (old and new) and keep writing! (and I promise I will get round to reading some more soon). x

      Like

Leave a Reply

