Day 24 – A favourite “unputdownable” book

It’s a dirty job but someone’s gotta do it…

I love finding a book that I just cannot put down; I just have to keep reading to find out what happens, chanting “just one more chapter, just one more chapter”. What’s better than being sucked into another world so brilliantly that when you look up you’re surprised to find that you’re still in your own living room. LOVE ‘EM!

There are so many books that would fit this challenge so I have decided to go for one that I haven’t mentioned on my blog yet. Even that was difficult but I have finally gone for The Job by Douglas Kennedy. I was first introduced to Kennedy by a friend years ago with an insistance that I read The Big Picture (just as unputdownable, by the way) and after that I went on a little Kennedy bings and devoured about 5 books in one go by him. The Job really struck a chord with me though as it is set in the corporate world (which I work in – yes, anoyingly enough I do have a day job which is rather inconvenient to my reading-life….).

The Job  is the story of a Salesperson who left the sticks to relocate to Manhattan, determined to be a success at any cost which leads him to make a decision that will alter the cause of his life and find him unable to get out.  This book races along so fast, with so many twists that it truly was impossible to put down! Brilliant, just brilliant!

Ignore the naff cover – this book isn’t even about a woman and there’s certainly no romance in it – and pick up a copy of this book. Then read his other stuff (I have loved all his books that I’ve read and I still have about another 5 to read!) and let me know what you think.

 

  Which books have you found unputdownable?

 

11 thoughts on “Day 24 – A favourite “unputdownable” book

  1. I’ve only read one or two books by Douglas Kennedy and The Big Picture is one of them. I really enjoyed that book. I don’t know, the covers usually stop me from picking up his books. Strange that they chose a woman on the cover of The Job!

    Like

  2. I have only read one of his books yet but I loved it and it indeed was unputdownable !
    “The Pursuit of Happiness” was a great, great story, very moving.

    I recently bought “The Moment” which sounds quite good as well ! I have “The Big Picture” at home too, my brother in law loved it and told me I ought to read it.

    Like

  3. That cover, eeek 🙂 Definitely going to add to Wishlist. Some days I seriously say ‘work, I don’t have time for this, I need to read or blog’, lol. Really I wouldn’t give it up, maybe for less hours….

    Have a great weekend.

    Like

  4. The book I’m currently reading, Blood Harvest by S.J. Bolton, is definitely unputdownable. I stayed up much too late last night reading chapter after creepy chapter. It is addicting!

    Like

  5. Well, I recently finished Lady Audley’s Secret by Mary Elizabeth Braddon, and I had a hard time putting that one down. A Game of Thrones was wonderful too, even though I’d seen the HBO series and it was very faithful.

    One of the MOST unputdownable books I’ve ever read was The Way We Live Now by Anthony Trollope. It’s 100 very short chapters and I kept sneaking off to read just one more! It started off a bit slow but I couldn’t stop reading it. Amazingly timely, even though it’s more than 100 years old. I always recommend it to people.

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting on all these posts, Karen, I’ve loved reading your answers.

      I LOVED Lady Audley’s Secret too! I haven’t read A Game of Thrones but I must look it up as someone else has recoemmended that to me recently too. I haven’t read any Trollope yet either and I’ve always wondered which one I should read first. I will get myself a copy of TWWLN – loving the short chapter thing too 🙂

      Like

  6. I actually love all of his books so far and all have been ones that I couldn’t put down.
    Can’t wait to read both The Job and The Moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

