Day 23 – A book that is a most treasured possession

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star…

When I was a little girl I loved Twinkle comics and every year my Auntie, Uncle and cousin would buy me the annual for Christmas. In the 1974 version there was a story called Rosie the Reindeer and each year after that, on Christmas Eve and once I was in my pyjamas, I would sit on my dad’s knee and he would read me this story. He laughs because even now if I see him on Christmas Eve I bring it with me so he can read it to me (although I don’t sit on his knee anymore!)

That Twinke annual is now battered, bruised and taped up with celotape but I still love it and I still know most of the stories in there by heart. I will never, never part with my pink Twinke annual.

 

 

I posted about this book last Christmas and I wrote the whole story of Rosie and The Reindeer out in full so to read it and see more pictures click here.

  Which book is your most treasured possession and why?

 

 

6 thoughts on “Day 23 – A book that is a most treasured possession

  1. I have a couple, my Wishing Chair Again hardback book, it’s the original, it’s in fabulous condition, I love to look through at the pictures, it has my name in it, I too will never part with it. My other favourites are my first edition Matilda and The Witches, I love them! I also had two of my mums favourite books from her childhood, she doesn’t read books now but I kept these. They are Follyfoot Farm books, Cobblers Dream. I think it’s about a horse.

    Another favourite book of mine is again, from my childhood. It’s a collection of Christmas stories, that I used to read every Christmas with my nan. My Nan passed away many years ago, and she was buried with this book. I obviously don’t have it anymore but it still has special meanings.

    Like

  2. Great idea for a post. When I was younger, I had a black and white cat called Lucy, she’d been around since before I was born so felt like part of the family. One day my mum found a second hand copy of ‘When Lucy Went Away’, a book about a cat called Lucy. It’s quite a sad book about the cat disappearing, and I know it’s cheesy but I used to like to read it after she died. I suppose that’s quite a special book for me.

    Like

  3. Oh, how wonderful! I loved Twinkle, and it’s one of my earliest reading memories. My mother was a great believer in passing on books one I had “grown out of them”, and I understand her good intentions but I do regret the loss of my “non classic” childhood favourites.

    Like

  4. Mine would have to be my copy of Hans Christian Anderson’s ‘The Blue Fairy Book’. My grandparents lived on a remote farm in Devon and as children my sister and I would spend large chunks of the summer and Christmas holidays down there with our parents. We’d take this book with us, and crawl into my grandparents’ massive old bed early in the morning so Grandpa could read us one of the fairytales – he had a huge range of voices and wild facial expressions and really brought them to life! Such a happy memory, since both of my grandparents sadly died in 2003.

    Like

    • I love that. My parents used to use the different voices too (and make books really exciting).

      That’s a shame that your Grandpa never knew that you would become an author, escpecially after helping ignite your love of literature.

      Like

  5. Was this the annual with the story Tricky King Dickie in? I loved that story and now tell it to my children but I’m not sure which Twinkle this was published in. It was definitely early 70’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

