Day 21 – A book I am embarassed to say I like

Taking the fifth…

The answer to this question is…….there aren’t any!

One thing I really dislike about some readers is their snobbism towards certain types of books. No, not every book is for me (for example I couldn’t ever see myself reading Mills & Boon but just because it’s not my choice doesn’t mean there’s anything wrong with these books).

I love most genres which includes crime fiction and chicklit, both of which can get really bad press and knocked. I particularly hear alot of negative comments about the sorts of books that appear on supermarket shelves etc which really annoys me. Whenver I go into a supermarket the first isle I go down is the book isle and there are always other people stood around, browsing and dropping books into their trolleys. So what if it’s not always literary fiction or the classics? Who cares? Surely the point is that people are reading at all. If supermarkets bring books and a love of reading to the masses then isn’t that a good thing?

Another comment I hear scoffed at is when people say “so long as the book entertains me then that’s all I’m looking for.” But I quite agree with that statement! I read to escape and slip into another world, whether that be a 19th century stately home, a cupcake cafe, a police department in Boston or a high school in Forkes. Yes, I love well-written and clever books and I more than appreciate the time and work that has gone into a piece of literature and I have read more than my fair share of literary fiction but we shouldn’t dismiss other books too for being too commercial; afterall that’s what makes them fly off the shelves and into peoples homes.

So, in answer to this question: There are no books which I am embarassed to say I like. Reading should be a pleasure, not a chore.

Be loud and proud I say!

 

Do you agree with me or are there some books you keep hidden at the back of your shelves?

 

33 thoughts on “Day 21 – A book I am embarassed to say I like

  1. I TOTALLY agree! I kind of hate it when people think there is wrong with liking certain books (ie: Twilight). I feel like anything that is getting people to read is a good thing. This is why there are so many different kinds of books out there! There is something for everyone! I proudly say when I like a book!

    Oh, that being said I kind of hide my Harlequin romance novels. That’s my dirty little secret. 😉

    Like

  2. I agree with you! I proudly display my collection of chick-lit (Maeve Binchy, Marian Keyes) as well as my literary fiction and my thrillers.

    I think you’re right, it’s good that people are buying books at all, although I do look down a little on people who claim to “read” but only pick up Mills and Boon. For me, that’s like reading magazines and I don’t call that “reading”. So yes, in that sense I’m snobbish.

    I used to have a book by Penny Vincenzi which I really loved and read several times. I think she’s in the Jackie Collins category. Not sure what happened to the book, though. Hmm, must check the shelves upstairs. 🙂

    Like

  3. Clap, clap, clap Boof !! This is a wonderful post! I agree with you all the way…It is great to see people reading and buying books, who cares what genre the books fit in as long as people enjoy them ?

    My tastes in books are very eclectic, I read classics , historical fiction, biographies as well as thrillers, horror, chick lit and so on …and my books are my best friends, all of them.
    The only thing I do not understand is people who do not like reading or houses with not books in them…makes me so sad !

    Like

  4. I do agree with you all the way!!!

    I used to have a flatmate who once told me “it’s a shame that, reading as much as you do, you waste your time reading Agatha Christie’s books; you should read better books”…. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing!!!… he was such a snob!

    Reading is ALWAYS good, no matter what you read; I used to feel embarrassed about books like “You are what you eat” or “The Da Vinci code” and I would hide the cover when I was reading in public, but I don’t any more and I don’t care what other people think of what I read!I enjoy them and that’s what matters. :o)

    Like

  5. Great post Boof, I agree! What is so bad about supermarket books?…I saw a snide comment about this on another blog, like you aren’t meant to buy from a supermarket, why? Asda has a paperback and hardback chart, and they’re the same books they have in Waterstones charts, just a lot less. I love getting books from the supermarket, I do shop way too much at Waterstones too 😉

    Chick lit is a genre that I rarely pick up, not because I’m snobbish, but they all seem to be the same thing. I do have the Shopaholic series on my shelves, and a few Jackie Collins, amongst my crime, thrillers, Agatha Raisin, Jane Eyre and Bleak House (yet to read)

    Who cares what we read, as long as people are reading, too many people are sucked in by tv, and game consoles, reading has got lost amongst all that, I say read and be happy 🙂

    Like

  6. I am a bit of a book snob sometimes, which means when I love a bestseller I do feel a little ashamed… awful, isn’t it? I think it’s because I want to feel that I’ve unearthed hidden treasures, rather than followed the crowd. So vain…

    Like

    • Aww Simon, beacuse I have met you and you are such a lovely person I forgive you 😉

      To be honest, I like your approach of trying to uncover hidden treasures (and I have picked up a few of your recoemmendations) but (wagging my finger now!) don’t be ashamed of the best-sellers! Be loud and proud 8)

      Like

  7. Ha! So true. I was recently caught out on this by my boyfriend, who only ever reads sci-fi. I recently forced ‘Life of Pi’ on him and he loved it…and then went straight back to the sci-fi. I badgered him about expanding his horizons and reading more literary fiction for a while until he pointed out the long, long row of Anne McCaffery and Terry Pratchett books on my shelves…so what right had I to be snobby about his sci fi books?? Completely right. He’s reading what he enjoys to read, and that’s the important thing! Glad to hear you enjoyed The Unseen, and thanks for a lovely review.

    Like

  8. Really? Small world! I actually imagined ‘Cold Ash Holt’ pretty much where Brimpton is – I was living in Midgham Green at the time, just on the other side of the A4. Lovely around there isn’t it? (Well, perhaps not Thatcham…). Just editing the next book now – out next July I think. Another dual narrative I’m afraid! But very different, though, and it’ll be the last one – got an idea brewing for the new book and no more dual narrative…

    Like

    • Oh how cool. I actually imagined Cold Ash Holt to be where Buckleberry is (the place wherer Kate Middleton grew up – so beautiful up there). Now I can imagine Cat on Alberts bicycle flying down my road intead 😉

      At the risk of sounding like a raving sicophant, YOUR dual narratives I have no problem with as they really work, it just seems like everyone else has jumped on the bandwagon and not all of them do work. Either way, looking forward to your next books 🙂

      Like

  9. I completely agree. Having just had my first novel published, Everything and Nothing (which you very kindly gave a good review), I’ve come to realise that it is really hard to write any kind of book and that so much work goes into all of them. it’s now in the Richard and Judy autumn book club which I’ve been shocked to find out some people look down on, when actually both Richard and Judy seem to know loads about literature, to love books and to love reading. And surely that’s what it’s all about, loving reading in all it’s wonderful shapes and forms.

    Like

    • Hi Araminta, yes I did enjoy your book (read earlier this year I think). Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      I completely agree about Richard & Judy books – it actually REALLY annoys me when people look down on these books – R&J are just as capable as reading and having an opinion and enjoying as anyone else (and in fact, Judy has a degree in Englist Literature I think) and more importantly that anything else, they bring reading to the masses! Surely that’s a good thing? There’s such a lot of snobbism about R&J books and I don’t understand why.

      Anyway, good luck with your book too – some authors have gone stratespheric after being a part of this club 🙂 Good luck with your writitng career too.

      Like

  10. Boof, I read the title and couldn’t think what you would be embarassed to read and talk about, lol, good to see the post go in a different direction.

    I have to say I am a little embarassed to read exotica with the cover showing but it really is not to make others uncomfortable.

    I am reading which is the important piece. I will have to take notice of books in grocery stores, I don’t think some have them in Bermuda, hmmm.

    Like

  11. Definitely the right attitude, I say! It’s amazing how we put so much pressure on ourselves to appear intelligent or highbrow in so many aspects of our life, and yet if you’re not enjoying what you read, what is the point?

    Like

  12. i don’t have a problem with anyone knowing what books I read either, but I have heard it said that e-readers and tablets are making it easier for those who wish to disguise their habits 😉

    Like

  13. What a great post Boof! I have to admit I do get snobby sometimes but that’s only towards books that I have no interest in (or ones that have really annoyed me – all my reasons are personal). Otherwise I like that I read so many different genres and root for people who do likewise. But it just made me smile when I read that you had no books you are ashamed of as I was busying trying to think of what books I’d hide!

    Like

  14. I agree that you shouldn’t be ashamed of the books you read and love … but I must admit that I hesitate to admit my all abiding love for the Twilight books (and Edward Cullen). It just makes me feel … so juvenile or something!

    Like

  15. Great answer. I admit to being a bit of a book snob but I do have books which I consider “guilty pleasures” (*cough* Shopaholic series *cough*) that I am not ashamed to read when I’m in that mood.

    Like

  16. Well said !!

    I’ll try pretty much anything that catches my interest, though I have to be a bit picky to be sure I fit as many good books as I can into a single lifetime.

    And one of the undersung priviledges of being a reader is watching so many diverse people looking at books in libraries and bookshops, all with different interests and looking from different things from reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

