Day 12 – A favourite historical novel

I’m Henry VIII I am, I am… ♪ ♫

 

I must admit to having a little crush on the Tudors. All that feasting, snobbery, coruption, jousting, ruthlessness and beheading – fantastic!

At almost 1000 pages (and pretty small print) this book is not a quick read but having said that, I was so engrossed in the story that it did take me only about 10 days to read. Sometimes when I invest time in reading a really long book I feel so damn pleased with myself by the time I get to the end of it that I may think it’s better than it is. Not so with this book; it’s worth every page. The story of Henry VIII is told by his “fool” Will Sommers and charts Henry’s life from before birth to after his death. So much research and period detail has gone into this book and I have read that it took Margaret George over 10 years to write. It really is such a great book and even if  you haven’t read anything about the Tudors since you were at school this is a great refresher. It assumes no knowledge of those times but isn’t patronising. I never once felt lost or out of my depth; just engrossed in a page-turning book.

 

  Which other historical novels should I be reading?

 

5 thoughts on “Day 12 – A favourite historical novel

  1. I love, love the Tudors and I enjoyed this book, I’ve also read The Memoirs of Cleopatra by the same author which I enjoyed too. I am a huge fan of Michelle Moran and I loved her Egyptian novels, Nefertiti, The Heretic Queen and Cleopatra’s Daughter. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m with you! I bought this book after reading Philippa Gregory’s Tudor series. I haven’t yet read it, but it’s encouraging to see how much you enjoyed it. Have you read Wolf Hall, and did you like that one, too?

    Like

Leave a Reply

