Day 9 – A favourite crime fiction book

Time, Gentlemen, please…

It’s fair to say that I’m a pretty big fan of crime fiction (in case you hadn’t noticed ;)) but as I have done quite a few posts recently about my favourite books and author in this genre for Thrill Week I have decided to go with one that I absolutely loved but seems to get overlooked a lot. Gentlemen and Players is by Joanne Harris who is more famous for her foodie-type novels, in particular Chocolat. She has, in fact, written quite a few books that could be described as darker and this is one of them.

From the first page you know that there are a murder or two which sets the reader up for the unfolding story ahead. The story is set in a public boys school that is centuries old and has a mighty reputation to uphold and is narrated by two people in turn to keep us guessing.Β Whatever you think you know about this book, think again: by three quarters of the way through I guarantee that you will flick back wondering when you could possibly have missed the signs (not once but twice).Β  I really did not see the ending coming – brilliant twist!

No blood, gore, forensics or profiling but a bloody good read!

 

Β  Which crime fiction books took you by surprise?

 

18 thoughts on “Day 9 – A favourite crime fiction book

  1. I don’t think I read that one – Shelfari tells me I didn’t But I know the story, because of a tv film – can that be right? Otherwise, I read the book after all. I read most books by Joanne Harris.

    I found the recent Before I go to Sleep by S. J. Watson quite surprising, although I had my suspicions…

    Like

  2. I loved Five Quarters of the Orange, Blackberry Wine and Chocolat. I’m a bit put off by reading anything else of hers, because I loved these foodie ones so much. I don’t want to taint her, if that makes sense, especially since everyone said Blueeyedboy was a flop. I might give this one a go though, your review does win me over πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Hurray for winning you over! πŸ˜‰ Yes, FQotO is in my top 20 of all time, and I absolutely loved BW and Chocolat too but don’t miss out on reading this one. Forget what you’ may have heard about Blueeyedboy – this is different. Let me know what you think when you read it!

      Like

  3. I m still reeling about phantom of Breslau a great book true literary crime fiction at it’s best boof and of course the Holmes books which I think stand numerous rereadings and more important the test of time all the best stu

    Like

  4. I’ve only read Chocolat which was ok, but am excited to hear about this one. Didn’t realise she wrote darker books. I used to read so many crime books I don’t think I can pick a favourite although Christie, Sayers and Elizabeth Peters always rank highly.

    Like

  5. I’ve never head of the author/book but I’m looking for it on my local library. Thanks!

    By the way, as a crime reader, haven’t you been told so many times “oh, I don’t know how you can read such horrible things/crime novels are usually badly written? I have myself and it annoyed me so much…

    Like

    • I hope you find it and enjoy, Elena πŸ™‚

      Yes, I agree that there is a lot of snobbism around crime fiction whch annoys me too. So much of this genre that I have read has been so clever and well written (not in all cases, but that’s across the board in fiction). Besides, I’d rather have a really entertaining read than some boring old fart of a book that’s trying to be too clever!

      Like

      • That’s exactly my point, old fart trying to be too clever included πŸ˜€

        I just bought Kate Atkinson’s When will be there good news? A professor of mine says she’s the greatest author noawadays when it comes to crime fiction. I cannot wait to receive it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

