Day 7 – A favourite YA book

Hungering for more…

I don’t tend to read too much YA but when I do I am usually pleasantly surprised. This category was quite tough to decide actually as I kept swaying back and forth between my two favourites. I know some of you will groan at this but frankly I don’t care as I absolutely LOVED…..Twilight! I read that book when the film had first come out in the UK and there was so much hype about it but I wanted to read the book first. I had no idea what it was even about but I just adored it and then went on to read the next two in the series (still have Breaking Dawn on my pile). Anyway, I digress as that’s not the book I chose.

I picked The Hunger Games as my favourite. Again, I had heard a few rumblings about this book and picked it up knowing nothing about it. I was totally blown away! This book grabbed my by the throat and did not let me go throughout the whole book. I remember I read it on a flight from Manchester to New York and as soon as we landed I was practically dragging Mr Whisperer to the nearest Barnes & Noble to pick up the second book in the series!

One of the most exciting books I have ever read and it is in my Top 20 of all time! I insist that you read this book!

 

  Do you ever read YA ficiton? Which other books could you recommend?

 

20 thoughts on “Day 7 – A favourite YA book

  1. I do read some YA fiction, especially since I have two teenage boys. I love dystopian YA and that’s really the only YA sub-genre I tend to pick up. So, The Hungergames is number 1 for me, too.

    I did love the first Twilight book but after that I started to lose interest and I never made it to book 4. It was the first time I came across YA actually. Before I read Twilight I didn’t know there was such a genre. That’s 3 or 4 years ago.

    Like

  2. I quite happily read YA lit. The best I’ve read recently has to be the Chaos Walking Trilogy (Knife of Never Letting Go, Ask and the Answer, Monsters of Men) by Patrick Ness. Also superb is his A Monster Calls based on an idea of the late Siobhan Dowd.

    Can’t recommend the Chaos Walking books enough.

    Like

  3. Ha ha, I’m with you on Twilight, although Book 4 just creeped me out. I’ve been dithering over whether to buy the Hunger Games and Chaos Walking trilogies as I definitely want to read the books before the film (of Hunger Games) comes out. Keep walking past them obsessively in bookshops.

    Like

  4. I had Hunger Games, but I never read it and I did a RISI swop for it, I’m not heavily into dystopia as a genre, I think that’s why it put me off. I have read the Twilight Saga and I loved it *cough* I would happily read them again, I love the films too 😉 I also like Maggie Stiefvater. YA is a huge genre, there was never anything like it when I was that age!

    Like

  5. I have not read the fourth book in the Twilight series either but it is in my TBR pile.
    My three children just adored the Hunger Games series and keep urging me to read them.I still have to buy them but in English not the french translations.

    Like

  6. Thanks for suggestions. I initially meant to read a fair share of YA when I started this blog, but then I was put off by some of them being a snoozefest for a woman of my age, and overpopulated with vampires and zombies. However, I will look into Hunger Games and Chaos series, have heard about both a lot. My grown daughters (well, not teens) adored Twilight but I passed on that, having heard enough about it to have lost all surprise element for it. Rae

    Like

  7. Twilight would be my favourite YA novel of choice, and yes I’ve read all 4 and seen all the movies so far at midnight on the day of release! I’ve also read The Hunger Games trilogy and was completely obsessed by the premise presented in the first book and as I was reading, I kept imagining how thoroughly scary this book would have been if it had been written for an adult market. It would have been a lot more graphic and unsettling. I found the third book very disappointing. Have you read the whole series? Which was your favourite and least favourite?

    Like

  8. I love YA and was going to join you on your challenge for this day but I ended up with a list of about twenty books! Ilove the Lian Hearn books as well as the Philip Pullman His Dark Materials and Robin McKinley’s Sunshine. I could never pick a favourite!

    Like

  9. I have yet to read the third book in this series: I’m torn because I desperately want to know what happens next, but I also want to keep a book in the series yet to discover. Maybe I should re-read one and two whilst I battle over this!

    Meantime, other great YA stuff: Hiromi Goto’s Half World and Nnedi Okorafor’s The Shadow Speaker. Not like Suzanne Collins, but still very entertaining and provocative.

    Like

Leave a Reply

