One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four… and Five…

A fun meme for a Friday courtesy of the lovely Simon at Stuck in a Book (check out his blog; he’s really good fun):

 

 

The book I am currently reading:

The Tiger’s Wife by Téa Obreht. This seems to be taking me an age to read but I am enjoying it. A little slower than I would have liked but sometimes it’s a good thing to savour a book rather than race through it. And of course it features a tiger (and you know how much I love tigers – à la Richard Parker from Life of Pi).

 

 

The last book I finished:

Now You See Me by S J Bolton. I am lucky enough to have a copy of this already as it hasn’t quite reached the shops yet (although look out for it as it will be on those shelves in a matter of days). I have discovered this author this year and have just loved her books. Now You See Me is no exception. Women are being killed in London and they have all the hallmarks of Jack The Ripper….

 

 

The next book I want to read:

 

This is a really difficult one as I am incredibly fickle and can be easily swayed by something shiny and new, but at the moment I want to read The Attack by Yasmina Khadra. I reserve the right to change my mind entirely on a whim, however.

 

 

The last book I bought:

Battle Royale by Kaushun Takami . This was recommended to me as being sort of Hunger Games-ish only set in Japan and a lot more brutal. I found this copy yesterday, brand new, in my local garden centre for one pound!!!

 

 

The last book I was given:

Hmmmm, this is a difficult one as I hardly EVER get any books given to me (people seem to think I have too many already. Tsk!). Apart from lovely publishers who regularly send me parcels (I love it – and them!) then probably the last book I was given was  I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman (known as Don’t Look Back in the UK) by lovely friend Stacie from the USA who I know from a group on Goodreads (there are 14 of us and we do a Secret Santa every year).

 

What would your five be?

 

25 thoughts on “One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four… and Five…

  1. Great books! A new Bolton? Sounds great. I also have a copy of Battle Royale but I haven’t read it yet. Amazing, just one pound. I guess most people haven’t heard of it so it’s not popular at all.

    Have fun reading!

    Like

  2. I loved Sacrifice by S.J. Bolton so I really need to read her other books. I’m glad to hear Now You See Me was good! And I really enjoyed The Tiger’s Wife too.

    Like

    • I read your review on The Attack, Kim – when I was looking for a cover picture google lead me to your review. So glad you liked it.

      Yes, I have seen my name up in lights – I have been away with work and not had much chance to look at blogs (how dare work get in the way of my personal life? Tsk!)

      Like

  3. The book that I am currently reading: Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Weaver
    The last book I finished: Run by Dean Karnazes
    The next book I want to read: The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
    The last book I bought: The Churchills – Mary S Lovell
    The last book I was given: Containment – Vanda Symon

    Like

  4. My boss has raved and raved about the Tiger’s Wife, and I admit I’m intrigued, especially because the author is so young and apparently a writerly genius.

    The Attack was okay, but not, to me, as good as Swallows of Kabul.

    I’ve started a million books lately, many of them short story collections, and mostly by young Canadians. But I haven’t had time to finish anything (although I did start and finish Divergent, a YA novel) in a day or two last weekend on a whim, sneaking in time here and there between proofing…)

    Like

  5. I can’t wait to open my autographed (forgive some prideful bragging here) copy of The Tiger’s Wife. We have a fabulous bookshop in town in which I was able to snag a copy signed by the author, but what I’m most looking forward to are the words inside.

    Also, while quite disappointed with The Hunger Games several of my blogging friends recommended The Battle Royale. I’m looking forward to that, too, especially as I have a passion for Japanese literature.

    Your books look quite divine to me!

    Like

  6. Great books. Why oh why did I not write a review of ‘The Attack’ when I read it (weirdly in Tel Aviv, which will make sense as to why wasnt the best timing but wow what a book) a few years ago? I also realised that I havent scheduled my reviews of The Tigers Wife and several other Orange books. All things to add to the to do list.

    Is Bolton as good as Hannah, Gerritsen and McDermid? If so I think I have to get into these book!

    Like

  7. Ooh, really want to read The Tiger’s Wife. It’s had some mixed reviews which makes it more exciting although I’ve also read that she’s a genius. I’ve seen the film version of Battle Royale which was gruesome but haven’t read the book. Interesting to see what you think of it as it’s been compared to Lord of the Flies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

