New Arrivals!

Goodies….

Check out these babies from my recent trip to London and the south coast (where Mr Whisperer told me I had been a good girl and I was allowed to wander round the most beautiful flag-stone-floored Waterstones in Chichester without a nagging husband in sight and pick out some books!)

From the wonderful Daunt bookshop in Marylebone (where the books are set out by country) I got:

The Attack by Yasmina Khadra (set in Israel)

Three Sisters by Bi Feiyu (set in China)

The Last Brother by Natacha Appanah (set in Africa)

This Rough Music by Mary Stewart (set in Greece)

Mantissa by John Fowles (one of my al-time favourite authors)

Check out the free bag I got too (I was just as excited about this as I was about the books!)

From Waterstones in Picadilly, London I got:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

From Waterstones in Chichester I got:

Harvest by Tess Gerritsen

Jump! by Jilly Cooper (I have never read a Jilly Cooper before now but it was on offer and I fancied a big romp of a scandalous read. Has anyone read any of her books? What do you think?)

ย 

Thank you to the following publishers for these books sent: Simon & Schuster (who sent me a very exciting large package with 4 books in it), Michael Joseph and Bluedoor:

The Nightmare Theif by Meg Gardiner

Blue Monday by Nicci French

Here Come the Girls by Milly Johnson

Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner

Goddess of Vengeance by Jackie Collins

Daughters of Fortune by Tara Hyland

ย 

Have you read any of these books yet? Which ones do you recommend?

ย 

28 thoughts on “New Arrivals!

  1. I arrived home to the same lovely package from Simon and Schuster! I think it is clear that you had a very successful shopping trip, enjoy!

    Like

  2. Lovely haul Boof! And don’t you just love it when you get a free bag? It’s a win-win situation:) I had a Daunt bag but gave it to a friend. Must get myself another one as it’s so easy to use.

    Like

  3. I have read all of Jilly Cooper’s books and have thoroughly enjoyed them. I’d higly recommend Jilly if you are after as you say: ‘a big romp of a scandalous read’! I have Jump in my ‘to read’ pile and am looking forward to it! Will drown myself in the world of Jilly Cooper once presentations and exams have been had!

    Enjoy your lovely selection – oh, how I envy you!

    Like

  4. I’d go all the way to London just for the bag he he ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve not read Jackie Collins,i did get 2 of hers from the library sale a few weeks ago,i think they were from the Lucy series.

    I’ve never read a Jilly Cooper properly,the last time i looked in one would be when i was a tween and me and my friend would sneak peaks at whatever my friends mum was reading.

    Looking forward to seeing what you think ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. “some” books? Wow, I’m glad to know I’m not the only one loosing control in book shops…. ahah I remember spending way too much time in Waterstones when living in London.
    Anyway, I’m gonna add some of these to my TBR list now…

    Like

  6. Oh my ! That’s like an avalanche of books ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ve just read one book by Jackie Collins, but was unable to really get into it.
    The Nightmare Thief, Blue Monday and Here Come the Girls sound interesting – I will be looking forward to your reviews.

    Like

  7. Nice selection! I have The Last Brother on my shelf, and the other titles you picked up at Daunt look great. I absolutely love the concept of browsing the shelves by country.

    Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner was a huge disappointment for me, I hope you enjoy it more than I did.

    Like

  8. What wonderful loot! I haven’t read any of the books that you picked up, but I do have a copy of the John Fowles novel. I actually haven’t read anything by Fowles because he kind of scares me… any recommendations on where to start? I’ve tried The French Lieutenant’s Woman a few times but I always stall a few chapters in…

    Like

    • Steph, you MUST read John Fowles – his books are amazing! My absolute favourite is The Magus but it’s a big thick book (so worth it though) so maybe start with The Collector (really compelling – the first of his I read and I have reread several times since too). Forget Lieutentants Woman, I can’t get through that one either.

      Like

  9. A nice selection, Boof! How exciting to pick out so many lovely books. I’ve only read Harvest by Gerritsen (I think you saw my review on my blog a while ago) and the others… I’d love to hear what you think when you get round to them!

    Like

  10. i think it’s funny that your husband said you were a good girl and you called him nagging!!
    the attack was wonderful…i made my book club read it!! very relevant to today’s news and just so …..interesting!

    Like

  11. Great shopping! And a free tote bag, too…very nice! I’m sure the Simon & Schuster package was fun to get.
    I haven’t read any of these so I can’t recommend any…Enjoy!

    Like

  12. I love it when my husband does that too!! What a wonderful haul you have! I haven’t read any of them but have heard of several of them. Enjoy you lucky girl!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

