A bookish week in pictures

Question:

What’s better than eleven days off work with the sun shining and spending time with family, at friends BBQ’s, reading on beaches and book shopping with bibliophile friends?

Answer:

Not much!


First stop – London. I was due to meet two bookish friends at Trafalgar Square but I got there early and grabbed myself a coffee and sat with my book in the blazing hot sun while I waited.

After walking round what felt like the whole of London in 30°C heat and visiting various historical landmarks (including the Tower of London) we finally made it (wearily) to Waterstones in Picadilly which is the largest bookshop in Europe and set on 6 floors. It was a lovely airconditioned respite after our days trecking but despite all those tempting gems stretching for miles, my feet would not allow me to do much else apart from collapse in one of the chairs and watch while Tisha and Kirsty loaded their arms with bookish goodies. I did manage to pick up a couple of things though (I was tired, not dead!)

The next morning I headed off to Marylebone to check out Daunt which I have been dying to go to for ages (all the books are categorsied by country which satisfies both my book geek and culture geek).

After 2-3 hours blissful browsing (and buying :)) in Daunt I headed over the road to sit at an outdoor table in the sun at an Italian restaurant to admire my purchases, read my Kindle and eat a big fat pizza!

Next stop: West Sussex on the coast for 5 days with Mr Whisperer’s family. Lots of fun (and managed to sneak in some reading on the beach too :))

Next stop: My parents back garden for lunch al fresco

Final stop: Pugneys Lake near where I live for a picnic and reading.

A brilliant week and ½ off work. Lots of sun, fun and reading. Hope you all had great bank holidays too?

 

Tomorrow I will be showing piccies of my new goodies!

 

16 thoughts on “A bookish week in pictures

  1. Sounds like a perfect day!… i haven’t been to London for years and years! maybe i’ll go for a day in the summer hols 🙂

    Like

  2. I already wondered what happened to our London book store recommendations. It’s great you had such a good time. I already made notes about the book shops you visited in my Moleskine London notebook for my next visit.

    Like

  3. Glad you enjoyed your time off to the max – is that restaurant Strada by any chance? That pizza looks lush!

    Also where abouts in west sussex did you make it too – looks like Bognor beach – i used to spend many summers there.

    Once again glad you had a such a good time 😀

    Like

  4. You really did it right that weekend!! Miss you guys and can’t wait to get back! This time with more space in my luggage to bring home books. I love the British covers. 😉

    And this cracked me up; and important clarification. “I was tired, not dead!: LOL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

