Book Review: Lasting Damage by Sophie Hannah

The Blurb:

“It’s 1.15 a.m. Connie Bowskill should be asleep. Instead, she’s logging on to a property website in search of a particular house: 11 Bentley Grove, Cambridge. She knows it’s for sale; she saw the estate agent’s board in the front garden less than six hours ago.

Soon Connie is clicking on the ‘Virtual Tour’ button, keen to see the inside of 11 Bentley Grove and put her mind at rest once and for all. She finds herself looking at a scene from a nightmare: in the living room, in the middle of the carpet, there’s a woman lying face down in a huge pool of blood. In shock, Connie wakes her husband Kit. But when Kit sits down at the computer to take a look, he sees no dead body, only a pristine beige carpet in a perfectly ordinary room . . .”
 
 
 
 

 

(source: Amazon.co.uk)

 

What I thought:

Imagine you log on to a house-for-sale website in the middle of the night and while perusing the virtual tour of a lounge, there infront of her appears a woman lying face down in a huge pool of her own blood. What would you do? Especially if by the time you have woken your sleeping husband and dragged him to the computer screen the image has disappeared and your husband doesn’t believe you. Are you going mad or is there something more sinister at work?

I was hooked on this book within 5 minutes of picking it up. In fact I have to credit this book as being the one that officially got me out of my reading drought that has plagued me since Christmas. Lasting Damage is the 6th in a series of books set in the Culver Valley and with the same department of Police, including Simon Waterhouse and Charlie Zailer, although they can be read as stand-alones too (I certainly haven’t read them in order; in fact I still haven’t read all of them which is great for me as I have them to look forward to!)

The great thing about Lasting Damange, as in the others in the series, is the page-turningness (is that even a word?) of them. Once you start, you can’t stop. Every chapter ends at a place where you just can’t put it down. From the opening pages, when Connie Bowskill makes her fateful discovery, through to the final chapter, the reader is taken on a nail-biting ride, where at every corner there is something new thrown into the mix to make you doubt your own theories and re-assess everything you think you know so far.

If you haven’t read any of Sophie’s books yet, what are you waiting for? If you have then you’ll know you’re in for a treat with this latest offering and you won’t be disappointed.

I am thrilled to report that I will be posting my interview with Sophie Hannah here this week too. How does she come up with her plots? Who are her favourtie authors? And some exciting news about a TV series too….

 

 (Source: I bought my copy of this book myself)

 

  Have you read any Sophie Hannah books? Which are your favourites?

 

20 thoughts on “Book Review: Lasting Damage by Sophie Hannah

  1. I am ashamed to say I have not read anything by Sophie Hannah yet. I have all her books on my wishlist though. On my next trip to a bookstore, I will be definitely picking up a book by this author. Thanks for the review!

    Like

  2. I haven’t read any yet but I’ve got one book on my TBR which I won on Gaskella’s giveaway. So many bloggers have said how much they enjoy her books that I’m excited but a little scared to read her! I should though, right??

    Like

  3. I’m a big of Sophie Hannah,a great review, really wants to make me read it NOW!!! 😉 they didnt have it when i went to sainsbury’s so i had to order it,cant wait for the postie to come 🙂

    Like

  4. I thought SophieH would be an author I would love but The Wrong Mother was just not executed well in my opinion and by far to many characters/police etc BUT this summary and your great review has me intrigued to try her again.

    Like

    • I’m not sure which one The Wrong Mother is, Marce, as they have changed the title for the US I think. I would guess at Little Face (the first one she wrote). I can’t remember too much about that book as it is years since I read it but I do know I prefered the last few I have read so maybe give her another try?

      Like

  5. Ooh ooh ooh, I can’t wait to read this now. Only 50 odd more pages of my current read and then it’s gonna be some double Room Swept White / Lasting Damage action me thinks…

    Like

  6. Pingback: Author Interview: Sophie Hannah « The Book Whisperer

  7. Pingback: Book review: Lasting Damage by Sophie Hannah | Petrona

Leave a Reply

