My favourite books of 2010

 

This was so difficult to narrow down – SOOOOO difficult! But narrow it down I have and here are the top 10 books I read in 2010:

 

East Lynne by Ellen Wood

“For about three weeks I felt like I was living in the middle of a Victorian soap-opera. There was murder, betrayal, divorce, disguises and death and all this set among a backdrop of stately homes and horse-and-carriages. What’s not to love?”

 

 

Corrag by Susan Fletcher

“It is truly one of the most beautiful and lyrical books I have ever read.”

 

 

Dog Boy by Eva Hornung

“The story is alternately shocking, pitiful, heartbreaking, tender, joyful and fascinating. I fell in love, smiled, cried and hoped. To live with this group of animals for a few days was a privelidge and one I won’t forget easily.”

 

 

Mornings in Jenin by Susan Abulhawa

“Although this book is only 330 pages long, it felt like an epic to me. I have spent 60 years with this family, watching them love, loose, fight, cry. I’m going to miss them. I cried at the end – not just because of their story but because of all the other thousands of peoples story – real people.”

 

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

“This book has it all: class conflict, politics, religion, women’s rights and passion! It makes you think, it makes you reflect on what was and it makes you ponder how we got from there to where we are now. We smile with them, we cry with them.”

 

The Likeness by Tana French

“I just loved this book, I found that I couldn’t and put it down, nor did I want to. Despite the size of the book, I never once felt like it was too long; on the contrary I could have gone on reading for several hundred more.”

 

 

The Snowman by Jo Nesbo

“The whole book, for me, pacey and gritty and just not wanting to put the damn thing down. If you enjoy crime / thrillers / whodunnits then you will LOVE this!”

 

 

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

“I feel like I have lost friends now I have finished this book.”

 

 

 

Room by Emma Donoghue

“Room is both brilliantly written but also gripping: it took hold of me from the first page and never let me go until the end.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Crossing Places  & The Janus Stone  by Elly Griffiths

“So what do you do when you’re busy, busy, busy and you’re brain is crying out for a book that will allow you to slip inbetween the pages from one life into another with complete ease?”

(OK, so I’m cheating here but I had to include them both as I read the first two books in a new series this year and fell in love with it – roll on the next books!)

 

Have you read any of these? What do you think to my 2010 favourites?

 

  

 

42 thoughts on “My favourite books of 2010

  1. I loved The Likeness, North and South and I thought The Help was okay. I started Crossing Places but got annoyed at heroine and the detective.
    I want to read Snowman but it isn’t available here yet. I also have sample of Corrag on my Kindle Great list! Happy New Year

    Like

  2. I don’t know why, but The Help is just not one that interests me. Dog Boy and several others do, though. Dog Boy’s been on my list for a while.

    And oh, aren’t those new Oxford classics editions so gorgeous? I just also saw the Secret Garden one in your sidebar! I got the Dicken’s Christmas Carol one, my first of these editions…so far!

    Like

  3. I read East Lynne a few years ago and loved it too. I’m glad to see it made it onto your list! I still haven’t read The Help but I do have a copy so I’ll try to get round to it as soon as possible. And I’m definitely planning to read something by Elizabeth Gaskell this year!

    Like

  4. The Help is in my top 10 of all-time fave books. I love your line of “I feel like I have lost friends now that I have finished this book.” My sentiments exactly.

    I’m putting several of these on my TBR list!

    Like

  5. A great eclectic mix of titles there.
    The Elly Griffiths caught my eye, in particular. I have not come across any of her work before, but they both sound like ‘must reads’ for me.
    Thanks for the recommendations and have a good 2011.
    Yvonne

    Like

  6. Room and The Help were on my Top Ten too! You have now added to my wishlist…with East Lynne, Corrag and Mornings in Jenin – thank you, I think! 😉 Happy New Year…may your bookshelves overflow if they’re already not… 🙂

    Like

  7. Pingback: TSS: The TBR Dare – Week 1 « Lizzy’s Literary Life

  8. What a wonderful website! I did read Elly Griffiths, Crossing Places, and I’ve just bought The Janus Stone. A few weeks ago, I bought North and South as well as Lark Rise to Candleford, and I’ve had Jo Nesbo and Tana French on my “to read” list for quite some time.
    I’m not familiar at all with Corrag, but I like the cover (!) so I will check it out.

    Like

  9. I’ve read ROOM and The Help, loved them both. You’ve introduced me to a book I’ve never heard of and am now dying to get my hands on…Dog Boy!! That sounds awesome! It’s on my wishlist now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

