I’m home and wishing everyone a Happy New Year!

Our drive through Scotland

Hello everyone!

I arrived back from my week long break in the Isle of Skye in Scotland last night (after a ten hour drive home) and had the most wonderful break away that I wanted to share my photos with you.

We stayed in a cottage on the cliff tops of the north-westerly point of the Isle of Skye with the most breathtaking views! We arrived in the snow which made the journey there a little perilous but once we were in, with a roaring log fire and views to die for it was so worth it.

Here are some pictures of our cottage in the snow and when it melted.

 

View from our cottage

View from the deck

View from the deck

When the snow had melted

Our cottage

Our neighbours

Santa's been!

 

An inside our cosy cottage with log-burning fire and Christmas tree. We has a lovely Christmas day, opening pressies we had brought with us and cooking a HUGE Christmas dinner with all the trimmings and then relaxed for the rest of the day watching TV.

The rest of the week we explored  and went on some long walks and fell in love with the island.

Castle of Klye of Lochlash

Cliff walk

View over a loch

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

 

After a magical Christmas away I’m back now and have some blog posts to write and lots of yours to catch up with.

Happy New Year everyone! Wishing you all a wonderful 2011.

 

28 thoughts on “I’m home and wishing everyone a Happy New Year!

  1. Oh my God. You will think me soft but I actually am shedding tears. What a beautiful holiday, what an ideal one! Your life is like a story, it’s exactly my dream.

    That first photo reminded me of when I lived in France and we drove to Switzerland. How gorgeous!! And the rest of your photos are so wonderful I feel as though I want to keep them. I’m bookmarking this post. I’m also sending it to my sister in Yorkshire, to give her an idea. Can you tell me what cottage you rented?

    I spent the holidays reading British country magazines, much to my utter delight. My favourite is Country Living. I’m also thinking of seeing if I can get a subscription to Yorkshire Life. (Or is Yorkshire Ridings good? I am not sure which is better.) Anyway, it’s given me focus and I’ve managed to collect about $70 for the start of my England fund. I’m going to try again. I must be there in 2011, and it would be so excellent to meet you!

    I’m so happy you had such a wonderful and beautiful holiday. Happy New Year: I wish you all the best and many more relaxing times like the one you just experienced! Thanks for posting the photos!

    Like

    • No, I don’t think you’re soft at all – things like this make me teary too! I get overwhelmed with beautiful places.

      I can’t wait until you can get over here again – it would be so great to meet you 🙂 Yorkshire Life is a great magasine – we get it sometimes. I will send you a link to the cottage for your sister too.

      COME BACK TO YORKSHIRE, STEPH!!!!!!!! 🙂

      Like

      • I will. I must. 🙂

        Thanks in advance for sending the link. I’ve already sent her your post…

        And thanks for not thinking I’m soft. We understand each other!

        Like

  2. Boof
    Would you send me the cottage link too. 21 years in Scotland and I’ve not spent a single day on an island. I may do something about that in 2011. Here’s to happy holidays in 2011.

    Like

  3. Oh, so beautiful! I’ve only spent one day on Skye (a long time ago) and I fell in love with the island. To me, it’s the place for a remote writer’s cottage and who knows, one day ( or maybe a long holiday) it might come true!

    Glad you made it OK there (the snow wasn’t helping I’m sure) and that you had such a wonderful time there.

    Happy New Year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

