Merry Christmas everyone!

 Wishing you all a wonderful holiday

 I wanted to wish you all a very Merry Christmas as I will now be away for the holidays with no internet access and not back until the new year.

Mr Whisperer and I are making the long journey up to the Isle of Skye (north west Scotland) today and spending our Christmas there in a cottage on the cliffs with no neighbours for miles around and a cosy wood-brning open fire. The plan is lots of walks and sitting round the fire reading books. Heaven!

 

My bookish gifts so far

It’s a well know grumble of mine that I rarely get book-shaped packages for Christmas or birthdays as people seem to be under the impression that I have too many already (What???? A person can NEVER have too many books in my opinion!).

Last night we went to my parents house for our “Christmas day” with them (a meal and exchanging pressies etc) and imagine my excitement to get these two wonderful gifts in amongst my lot:

A book journal to record all my reviews (which will be perfect for when I’m on holiday and can’t get access to the internet) and also to list all the books I want to read (I am slightly worried that there aren’t enough pages for this, however).

I also got this gorgoues illustrated copy of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol.

This is one of my favourite books of all times and the pictures make it feel really magical.

It also has narrative about what a Victorian Christmas was like, what they did, ate, played etc and a whole chapter on Charles Dickens himself.

I can’t wait to curl up with this in our cottage on Christmas Eve.

  Have a wonderful holiday everyone

Here’s wishing you all a very merry Christmas and may Santa visit you all with book-shaped packages 🙂

 

20 thoughts on “Merry Christmas everyone!

  1. Wishing you a great Christmas too. Hope you get to Skye safely. Are you driving or flying? We hope to travel from Dover to middle of country tomorrow (and from the Netherlands to Dover first!). Is it reasonable on the roads now?

    What a lovely gifts, Boof! The Christmas Carol book is lovely and I would LOVE a book journal. Very nice.

    I’m also terribly spoiled as I got a laptop (which I’m using already) and yesterday a book arrived that I didn’t know I’d won: it is Nigella Christmas, a cookbook, and I think the best thing since Delia (since way before Delia, actually). I whoopied through the house!

    Happy holidays! Almost in Xmas mood now. 🙂

    Like

    • Hurray for you “almost” being the Christmas mood now 🙂

      I’m hoping that the roads are OK now (after our eleven hour journey on Saturay and getting stranded in the snow!). There is more snow forcast for tomorrow so I have everything crossed that we both get to our destinations.

      Happy Christmas to you and your family, Judith 🙂

      Like

  2. Merry Christmas Boof! And how nice to get some bookish gifts! This year I too got a couple of books from my family. I remember we talked about how we never got books as presents:) Enjoy your holiday!

    Like

  3. Beautiful presents!!!, love the journal…

    Hope you enjoy Skye… we’re off to Spain on Friday if the snow permits, as they already canceled our flight last Monday :o(

    Merry Xmas!!

    Like

  4. Oh Boof!! I can’t believe I missed this post!! And now you’re off on idyllic holiday in Scotland. You are so living the life I was meant to live! There is truly no other person I’m more simultaneously happy for and jealous of.

    Funny: I posted about that very edition of Dickens’s Christmas Carol. I have a few but that one, which I bought myself last year or the year before, is my favourite. I was only just reading it yesterday. I have 7 editions of Robert Ingpen’s books, all matching: Alice, Tom Sawyer, Peter Pan, Treasure Island, Wind in the Willows, The Jungle Book, and Dickens. I’m very happy about them. Maybe I should post about them one day.

    I think I might remember you wanting this book, and I’m so very happy you received it! I also really would like the volume of Dickens’s bio illustrated by Ingpen: http://www.amazon.ca/Dickens-His-Work-World/dp/0763627526/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_b and this one, on Shakespeare: http://www.amazon.ca/Shakespeare-Michael-Rosen/dp/0744555817/ref=wl_it_dp_o?ie=UTF8&coliid=I294JNN6FMVA6E&colid=2OYG17CKP5OWR.

    Hope you’re enjoying your perfect-sounding holiday in that cottage! And I hope you took pictures!

    Happy Christmas, Boof, even if it’s after the fact.

    Like

Leave a Reply

