Tis the season…..

Christmas is my favourite time of year. I love everything about it; the dark nights, the smell of food, the twinkling lights, the cheesey christmas songs played in shops, wrapping up in hats and scarves, snow, and snuggling up in front of the fire with a really great feel-good book.

I already have several Christmassy books on my pile waiting to be devoured in the month of December (in fact I have cheated and alreay started reading one ;)) and I want to hear your recommendations too.

Which books really get you in the christmas spirit? Do you like chicklit, mysteries or classics? Personally, I like all three so recommend away! I will do a post in a week or so when I have collated some recommendations.

 

19 thoughts on “Tis the season…..

  1. I’m looking forward to that post next week! I have to admit that I don’t have many specific Christmas reads (but I like the idea!) I’m hoping to finally read A Christmas Carol this year.

    Like

      • This is a must-read!! I have read it every single Christmas ever since I can remember. First my parents read it to us, and got us the record to listen to. When I could read it, I read it alone. I read it to my little sister. Every single year we watched the Alistair Sim version (there is no other worthy) and read the book. I still do it. 🙂

        I can’t think of any others at the moment!

        Like

  2. Sorry, I’m definitely in a “Humbug!” mood at the moment, so I’m not recommending.

    I usually get in the Christmas spirit much too late. When I could have done a lot of shopping already but didn’t do because, well, Christmas is some time in the future, isn’t it?

    I love your picture!

    Like

  3. You crack me up! I love your Christmas spirit…. as much as I love the holiday and the meaning of Christmas… I am not a fan of the snow, the cold, the absence of warmth and light.

    I see the first snow and say, “Come on spring!”

    Maybe a good Christmas themed book will help me though the gloom of winter…… (or perhaps my trip to Honduras next week – sun and light!)
    🙂

    Like

    • Ha ha, yes I do tend to get over-enthusistic about things in general but when it comes to christmas I am like a child in a sweet shop! 🙂

      Honduras? Oh wow, that sounds lovely! But then when you get back to Minesota you must curl up with a christmas book.

      Like

  4. i make a point of buying a new children’s christmas book every year..think a cup of christmas tea….and then i sit in front of the fireplace and read them all….really makes you festive!

    Like

  5. Ooh, I love this time of year too! I have read and enjoyed The Christmas Mystery by Jostein Gaarder, The Cat That Could Open the Fridge: A Curmudgeon’s Guide to Christmas Round Robin Letters Simon Hoggart, Skipping Christmas by John Grisham, A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, A Redbird Christmas by Fannie Flagg, The Christmas Box by Richard Paul Evans (schmaltzy but good!).

    This season, I’m hoping to read The Virago Book of Christmas and The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding by Agatha Christie.

    Like

    • Oh wow, loads of great recommendations, Treez, thank you!

      I adored A Christmas Carol and A Redbird Christmas. Now I need to search out the others – how did I not know that Agatha Christe had a christmas book? I need to get my hands on that one 🙂

      Like

  6. Oh goodness where do I start. I love Christmas so much I pine for it throughout the year and am always looking ahead for what to read.
    I’ve just finished Ann Pearlman ‘The Christmas Cookie Club’ this was a great chick lit read recommended by ChickLitReviews.

    I’m now on to Trisha Ashley’s ’12 days of Christmas’ which is doing so well in the paperback charts. I hope to get through Amy Silver’s ‘All I Want for Christmas’. In fact at work, we have a whole bay display of christmas fiction. There’s a wealth of it this year.

    In terms of christmas children’s books, I’ll be dedicating the entire month to them on my blog. The Usborne ones are great as is the Quentin Blake illustrated hardback of A Christmas Carol. It is just charming and perfect to read by the fire when we are snowed in, in a few days time.

    Ooh and there’s so many fab christmas doodle books. The new Mr Men is lovely too. I have the whole Christmas collection now.

    Don’t get me started on my christmas cookbooks hehe.

    Like

  7. I love this time of year as well except for the cheesy music they play in shops! I work near Oxford Street (London) where it’s always blaring away 24/7 so I could do with a break;P This year my Christmas started early when I went to the Finnish and Norwegian Churches Christmas markets which were so warm and full of families shopping and eating which was lovely to see:) I don’t normally read Christmassy books, but cozy mysteries always remind of the season.

    Like

Leave a Reply

