Book Review: Burial by Neil Cross

The Blurb:

“Can your guiltiest secret ever be buried? Nathan has never been able to forget the worst night of his life: the party that led to the sudden, shocking death of a young woman. Only he and Bob, an untrustworthy old acquaintance, know what really happened and they have resolved to keep it that way. But one rainy night, years later, Bob appears at Nathan’s door with terrifying news, and old wounds are suddenly reopened, threatening to tear Nathan’s whole world apart. Because Nathan has his own secrets now. Secrets that could destroy everything he has fought to build. And maybe Bob doesn’t realise just how far Nathan will go to protect them…”

(Source: Amazon.com)

 

What I thought:

I hadn’t read anything by this author before (although my dad – Daddy Whisperer – read and reviewed one another of his books sent to me by the publisher recently) but I stumbled across a review of Burial a couple of weeks ago and thought it sounded like something I would enjoy. I was right – I couldn’t put it down!

Nathan is an unambitous plodder who is stuck in a relationship he doesn’t want to be in and a job he doesn’t want to do. Talked into going to the Christmas party of his z-list celebrity boss (a once-famous radio DJ) with his girlfriend, Nathan slopes off on his own and ends up taking coke with someone he barely knows, Bob. As the night wears on they are joined by a young girl, Elise, who they discover sitting outside on their own and the three decide to go for a drive, resulting in some sordid goings on in the car. Returning to the car after leaving Bob and Elise in there for just two minutes, Nathan discovers that Elise has died from what appears to be a fit. In blind panic, the two men bury Elise’s body in the woods and vow never to speak of it ever again. No trace of Elise was found and after some time the case is closed and forgotten about…..until 10 years later when Bob appears at Nathans door with the news that a housing estate is about to be built on the site of the woods…..

With its matter-of-fact narrative, this book was fast-paced and gripping and I found myself reluctant to put it down. I downloaded it onto my new Kindle (that I got for my birthday) as once I had read the review I wanted to read it right then rather than wait, and once I had started reading I even took my Kindle into the bath with me to read (although I must admit I was terrified of dropping it at first) but I couldn’t bear to not be reading even for 10 minutes.

Highly recommended for fans of crime and mystery fiction.

Also, you can check out Daddy Whisperers review of Neil Crosses other book, Captured, here.

 

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Burial by Neil Cross

Leave a Reply

