Daddy Whisperer reviews: Captured by Neil Cross

Following in the footsteps of Mummy Whisperer, this is the first of Daddy Whisperer’s reviews. To be honest, it is probably the last too, as he complained heartily when I asked him to review it once he had finished (even when I offered to scribe as he spoke – what a grump! 😉 )

My Dad loves crime fiction. In his words “if it hasn’t got a murder in the first three pages, it’s not worth carrying on”.

So here it is – my fathers first and last review (cue applause).

 

The Blurb:

“Even though he is still young, Kenny has just weeks to live. Before he dies, he wants to find his childhood best friend Callie Barton and thank her for the kindness she showed him when they were at school together. But when Kenny begins his search, he discovers that Callie Barton has gone missing. Although cleared of any involvement, her husband Jonathan seems to be hiding something. Kenny has no choice but to take matters into his own hands. And knowing that time is running out on him, he’s prepared to do whatever it takes …”

(source: Amazon.com)

 

  What Daddy Whisperer thought:

This was an enjoyable but unusual book.  Once Kenny knows he has only weeks to live he decides to go back and put wrongs right but there is not enough explanation as to why he chose the four people he did. I thought that the girl from his class in junior school didn’t have a strong enough reason for him wanting to find her again as they had only been at school together for a few years. It could have done with an extra chapter or 2 to develop more of why he wanted to go back to find these people.

Once the book got going it suddenly became particularly violent but believable and understandable violence (something that we could all have in us to committ potentially). The ending was very good, although it almost got out of hand. At one point I did almost wonder what was the point but it ended up being summed up nicely.

While I found this book very enjoyable; while somewhat surprising it was believable. I would definitely read another of his books. I have also discovered that he wrote the TV series Luther, which I loved.

 

Thank you to Daddy Whisperer for his review. Has anyone read this book or author? What did you think?

I haven’t read this book yet (I lent it to my dad first) but I fully intend to read it. I have just read one of Cross’s other books, Burial, which I LOVED and which I will be reviewing soon.

 

(This book was sent to me by Simon & Schuster. Thank you!)

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Daddy Whisperer reviews: Captured by Neil Cross

  1. Nice review, Daddy Whisperer! I don’t see any reason why you can’t do another one soon. I like your explanation about why it seemed a bit unlikely this man would try and find a girl from school.

    I’m reading a book at the moment (not crime) where I also ask myself every now and then “Really?”. That sort of things take me “out of” the story because I begin to think of the writer rather than the story!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Burial by Neil Cross « The Book Whisperer

Leave a Reply

